Anthem Of Change

27 01 2008

It backfired. The whole Hillary/Bill wrassling tag team blew up in their faces yesterday when Barack Obama beat the tar out of the two. And I can’t just write about Hillary as her name will be on the ticket but it’s a twofer deal. And it’s a deal I’m not grooving (Apologies to Mack) on right now although I might have been more open to it just two weeks ago.

I think Obama’s anthem of change is creating a great deal of inspiration and thought because it hasn’t been negative and apparently hitting a chord in non-traditional voters (although John Edwards hasn’t been as negative as well which I think deserves mentioning.) The whole race/sex thing, although it will be a factor with voters and there is no getting around that, was created as a wedge issue this past week by The Clintons and mainstream media ran with it. But it wasn’t as big of an issue as The Clintons made it into in South Carolina. We will have to see if it seeps into the states voting on Super Tuesday.  And it reeks dishonest and politics as usual to me and I don’t like it. Bill Clinton went about three steps too far and Hillary let him. And I liked Bill in office but I’m not liking what I see today.

The Clintons made huge missteps this week and Hillary’s campaign paid for it. She needs to rethink her strategy but anything as this point will seem contrived, I’m afraid. One thing I do know is that The Clintons aren’t dummies and they’ve bounced back before.

I can’t help but believe that John Edwards is done as a viable candidate for the White House at this point because if there was any state he should have taken with some ease was South Carolina but I don’t think he’s out of the running of being a very important factor as we stumble toward the Denver convention. He has delegates.  So who will he swing those delegates to because it might change things up? I don’t know at this point. In the world of politics, there is always something else going on.  Does he have a chance? In a “traditional” presidential campaign, I’d say no.

But this isn’t a traditional campaign year.

There isn’t getting around the fact that Obama is striking a chord among the American people including myself. I find myself watching him speak of his message of change but taking over the Bush Administration is going to be a challenge for whomever wins the White House.

Now, who is best to deal with this mess? And why should they get our most precious commodity right now?

That would be our one vote.


Actions

Information

8 responses

27 01 2008
Tennesseefree.com » John Edwards, Because He Has Nothing Better To Do

[…] Newscoma offers her analogy of the Democratic Primary Race up to this point, Included is this paragraph about John Edwards. I can’t help but believe that John Edwards is done as a viable candidate for the White House at this point because if there was any state he should have taken with some ease was South Carolina but I don’t think he’s out of the running of being a very important factor as we stumble toward the Denver convention. …. Does he have a chance? In a “traditional” presidential campaign, I’d say no. […]

27 01 2008
pshaw

I watched his victory speech and was moved. That was a damn good speech.

27 01 2008
Rachel

What did you think of Bill’s Missouri speech as essentially the first response from the Clinton campaign (Hillary’s Nashville speech coming later)? I’m getting a little tired of the “here’s all the junk I did, vote for my wife” argument.

27 01 2008
newscoma

Me too, Rachel.

27 01 2008
DB Carden

No Bush or Clinton will get my vote or my support. While a Republican candidate is closer to my ideals (Ron Paul) than any other, I voted for Obama in the primary (I love early voting) to vote against Hillary. 20 years of those two families running things is enough for my tastes.

27 01 2008
Round It Up .. « Newscoma

[…] Python Will Heal Anythingcathymccaughan on Monty Python Will Heal AnythingDB Carden on Anthem Of Changenewscoma on Anthem Of ChangeRachel on Anthem Of Changepshaw on Anthem […]

28 01 2008
Lean Left

[…] NewsComa: Anthem Of Change: It backfired. The whole Hillary/Bill wrassling tag team blew up in their faces yesterday when […]

28 01 2008
I Made the List! I Made the List! « Tiny Cat Pants

[…] NewsComa: Anthem Of Change: It backfired. The whole Hillary/Bill wrassling tag team blew up in their faces yesterday when […]

Leave a comment