BlogHer Nashville

5 09 2008

Once upon a time, there was this girl (well, actually a woman in her 40s) who started a blog to entertain herself. She wrote about politics, weird news, Bigfoot, Zombies, her dog Mabel and stuff that she found amusing. In the beginning, she was delighted as hell to get 25 readers a day and it made her happy.

Then her blog grew a little bit, which she credits to Nashville Is Talking and Brittney Gilbert to a large degree, and she made some friends in the blogging world. Her numbers grew a bit and she found that blogging made the whole world a bit smaller.

Over time, her readership continued to expand and she realized that the world of journalism, media and online networking was changing the game. She was old school, and likened herself to Carl Kolchak to a degree. She saw herself as a grizzled old-school kind of reporter but she knew the industry was changing. She preached about it to the locals, and although they didn’t always listen, she stood firm about what she believed.

She wanted to be a part of the bigger picture.

Nearly three years later, her audience grew a little bit more with the addition of utilizing Twitter. Bloggers she met became good friends, she was given opportunities that she never thought would be given to her in her wildest dreams and, believe me, it was of the good.

She is me.

I will be speaking at BlogHer on October 16 in Nashville. I’m so excited I can’t stand it in what looks to be two different panels.

I’m delighted.

And, to all of you, thanks for coming back here and hanging out with me. Without you, this wouldn’t be happening.

You guys are just incredible.


Actions

Information

21 responses

5 09 2008
bearroller9640

I know you will rock them hard…..please let us know how this event goes!

5 09 2008
Busy Mom

Cool, me too!

5 09 2008
Malia

I’m now looking forward to BlogHer Nashville even more than I was before and I didn’t think that was possible!!!!

Congrats & Woot!!

5 09 2008
missybw

And I’m going to get to meet both of you!!! Woo hoo!!! Yes, because I’m making the long trek over the Plateau to BlogHer 08- The Pickin’ & Grinnin’ Edition! I’m hoping at least one of your speeches includes Zombies or Bigfoot, ‘Coma. And bring lots of Mabel pics… because my Mabel wants to meet her counterpart.

5 09 2008
newscoma

Thanks guys. This is going to be fun!

5 09 2008
Rachel

What will you be speaking on?

5 09 2008
newscoma

Personal Blogging and then a panel on social networking/Journalism and how it’s all connected, Rachel. At least that’s what Elisa asked in the email.

And, of course, Bigfoot. 🙂

5 09 2008
cathymccaughan

Congratulations!

5 09 2008
LeftWingCracker

There could not have been a better choice…

5 09 2008
Introducing the Addiction of Blogging to Others | Baby Boomer Going Like Sixty in Kentucky

[…] Blogher is coming to Nashville. But I’m not welcome because I have a penis. […]

5 09 2008
cravensworld

YAY!

5 09 2008
Russ

Knock ’em dead, ‘Coma.

5 09 2008
GingerSnaps

Yipee!!! Congratulations! 🙂

5 09 2008
holly

Well-deserved. This makes me reconsider not going…

5 09 2008
Kathy T.

Well I’m going. 🙂

5 09 2008
Tommy

Very cool….

6 09 2008
MissSharonCobb

Congrats.

6 09 2008
Lynnster

Congrats, that’s wonderful. You’ll be a huge hit, I know. 🙂

6 09 2008
newscoma

Thanks guys!

6 09 2008
heartbreaktown

Aw, man! I’ve never been more jealous of Nashville! Wish I could go, but I know you’re gonna rock it! Congratulations!

6 09 2008
squirrelqueen

I’m so proud of you. You’re going to knock the socks off the sock-wearing audience.

Leave a comment