I Have Some Time To Figure Super Tuesday Out

23 01 2008

I saw some pretty contentious posts yesterday after the South Carolina Democratic Debate. Usually it was on the left. I’m from the left, so I paid attention.

I said last year that whoever stands on that stage in Denver later in the year is going to be the one getting all of our votes. Same with the Republicans.

Now, with that said, I’ve not endorsed anyone yet (like my endorsement makes a bit of difference to any other voter but I’m just saying.) I’ve not endorsed because I don’t know and my vote makes a difference to me.

So, I will say this:

John Edwards: I like him. I do. I thought he handled the brawl between Barack Obama and Hillary Clinton pretty well the other night. There are things about the way he handles the issues that speak to me personally. I talked to ViBinc the other night and he made some very good points about health care and spoke to me about why he digs him. It was a good conversation. I like what David had to say as well about, and I know we aren’t supposed to talk about this word, electability. I’ve also had some correspondence with Russ McBee who actually broke down why he’s supporting Edwards very effectively that gave me a lot of pause. But, I’m an old hippie, and electability makes a difference to me. I don’t like Edwards’ statements about same-sex marriage. And there is a piece of me that wonders what he really, truly wants out of this race. Has his time passed? I truly believe that people run for office for different reasons. But I’m weighing giving him my vote on Super Tuesday.

Barack Obama: The whole Present/Not Present allegations thrown at the Senator don’t wash with me. You can easily look up on the Internet the amount of votes that Hillary Clinton has missed as well. That debate argument seemed contrived and petty to me. Obama also speaks to me. I do like his message of change and I have spent a great deal of time reading his issues. I don’t think there is anything wrong with feeling a bit of hope about my government and that’s where Obama excels. As political bloggers or junkies, we have to keep in mind that is how people vote. So, along with his message of hope and change, I’m reading the issues that are important to me and seeing if his plans hit upon those said issues. I also like the enthusiasm he creates in some of the younger voters I read on the web and that are in my community. So, I’m weighing giving him my vote on Super Tuesday.

I’ll be honest. I’m tired of the Bush, Clinton, Clinton, Bush, Bush line of faux political royalty that has been a staple in this country since 1988. I don’t think Hillary Clinton would necessarily be a terrible president and I’ll vote for her if I have to. She does say some things I don’t disagree with her. She just doesn’t convey as well to me the things I’m looking for politically at this time of my life that the other two do. That’s just me.

Politics are uncomfortable. I get that. And it bugs me that the Democratic-controlled congress hasn’t been very effective since the election in November of 2006. I realize, however, there are folks out there that have been doing the heavy lifting in getting their candidates elected for which I’m appreciative. I’ve learned from you.

I need a bit of hope. I just don’t know who’s going to give that to me.

Who will make the difference? I have until Super Tuesday to figure it out.

I only have one vote. And it’s mine.


Actions

Information

4 responses

23 01 2008
Mack

The way I see it, Primaries are not the time to listen so much to what candidates say. That of course seems counter-intuitive, but the process is what the process is. Instead, i look at the resumes of the candidates. The other thing to consider is that for years, the republicans myopically chose social issues as their battleground, in part to box in some of their Dem rivals. They worked the issues all they could, and unfortunately, it created an environment where many lawmakers were forced to choose between the lesser of two evils. What I know in my heart is that a Dem president and Dem Congress will not waste time and energy on bullshit issues like flag burning or gay marriage. If you look back, you’ll see that we are always on defense on those issues. Anyway, I like the resumes of all three, perhaps Obamas the best. I’m leaning toward Hillary Clinton, but i haven’t voted yet either. Its nice to have choices, huh?

23 01 2008
newscoma

Yes it is, Mack. I may be old school but there have been times that I’ve waited until late on election days to see how the candidates react under pressure.

23 01 2008
captainkona

Well, T…

Unlike many, you have your head screwed on straight. You’ll review the facts, weigh the bad against the good, and vote for who you think will be the best person for the job and the country as a whole.

There is no more any genuine Liberal could ask. Rock on ! 🙂

30 01 2008
Round It Up .. « Newscoma

[…] tag team blew up in their faces yesterday when Barack Obama beat the tar out of the two. , and I Have Some Time To Figure Super Tuesday Out: I only have one vote. And it’s […]

Leave a comment