An Interview

13 08 2007

I left a comment for Megan at The Ride Home that I would do an interview on a meme she had up. Yeah, I shilled because I thought it would be interesting to see what I’d be asked. Yeah, I like talking about me, I guess.

So, this is what she sent me and I’m in.

And these here are the rules:

Leave me a comment saying “Interview me.” I will respond by emailing you five questions. I get to pick the questions. If you don’t have a valid email address on your blog, please provide one. You will update your blog with a post containing your answers to the questions. You will include this explanation and an offer to interview someone else in the same post. When others comment asking to be interviewed, you will ask them five questions.

1. What was your worst job ever? Why?

Other than the current one “BWAYYAAHHHAAAA.” Just kidding. The worst job I ever had was selling orthopedic shoes (Soft Spots and the like) for about three weeks at a shoe store when I was about 19 years old. It was horrible. Dealing with people’s feet was utterly disgusting (I don’t hate feet, but let’s just say it wasn’t groovy) but, although I hope I’m a groovy older person, some of the women were not very nice and one time, a woman swatted me with her purse because she didn’t like the shoes. So, alas, I had to be punished. I didn’t last long.

2. If you could pick any other time except the present to be born/live your life, what time period would you choose? Why?

Hard question. Sometimes, I think it would be neat to be an adult in the 60’s when my mother was young. There is something about that time I find very intriguing. I figure it would be very challenging because things were so different 40 to 45 years ago but there was a freshness about it or at least in my mind there is some romanticizing of it, which I admit.

3. Name one thing you would NEVER change about yourself, and explain why.

I try to be fair, and when I’m not, it eats my soul. When I know when I’m not being fair, my conscience guides me to where I can sleep at night, I feel this is valuable. It’s like Socrates said “An unevaluated life is not worth living .” I am glad for my conscience because I think even when I walk off the path, it helps direct me back to heading into the right direction. I’ll also say that I’m human and fail at this sometimes, but I’ve found that if I trust my gut feeling about my actions, that I usually turn out okay. I also like my hair although its a hot mess. I think it represents me pretty well on a vanity level. I’m also a hot mess so there you go.

4. What are you most passionate about? Why?

Making a difference in this world so it will be a groovy place for the nieces. I adore the nieces and sometimes feel I don’t give them as much as I should. They are smart, beautiful and funny and I hope they will grow up and do well. I am absolutely smitten with them and sometimes I find myself in tears watching them grow up. When they learn a new life lesson that I know is unpleasant, it hurts me to my core. When they do well, I’m so excited I can’t stand myself. These two children have taken my heart and made it their own. I am extremely excited to be blessed with them. I want well for them. Love is a wonderful, and sometimes, bittersweet thing.

5. If you could go back to any point in your life and do something differently, what would it be? Why?

I would have finished college instead of going directly into the work world. I like to say I’m the last apprentice in news on the planet. I worked while other people were in college which does have its value (I was in Europe and Canada for almost two years, so I missed some of my college time.) I was in college and chose money in what I thought was glamorous and for a check, which I do regret. I think this would have given me greater opportunities although I’m a true believer that I’ve made my own, which is good. (Patting myself on the back. No one else will give you an AttaGirl on this, know what I mean?) But, with that said, I think if I’d gotten my piece of sheepskin, it would have opened more doors for me. And, alas, I don’t have the money to go back and get it, but I also have more than twenty years experience which I wouldn’t give back. It’s hurt some, but not horribly. This is an area I’m conflicted on, obviously. I also think this keeps me in the pattern I’m in now and am intrigued of getting out of. Lesson from me: “STAY IN COLLEGE!” I’d also not have fought so much with Homer, the sister, as a child, as I love her madly. I know we were just kids, but still, it makes me wince to think how I treated her when we were kids.

How’s that for transparency?

So, thanks to Megan for taking the time to send me some questions and be sure to visit her blog. She’s getting braces today (the cool kind, not the metal mouth I had when I was in junior high.) Yeah for her.

And if you are pondering a career in shoe sales, I would say avoid, avoid, avoid.


Actions

Information

7 responses

13 08 2007
Lesley

I know a lot of people who didn’t finish college and are now struggling with going back. It’s kind of hard for me to imagine because as much as I hated going to school, it’s sure as hell a lot easier than this shit called a “job.”

13 08 2007
Megan

Wow, that was fast! Very thoughtful answers, and No. 4 is so sweet. 🙂

13 08 2007
Ron

The most important thing I learned in college was how to pretend I wasn’t hung over.

Fuck it, interview me.

13 08 2007
The Editor

I’m digging the 5 questions thing because it makes me write.

Plus, I’d love questions from you.
Ask away!

13 08 2007
Elizabeth

Do your damage, Boss Lady.

Interview me, if you dare.

Muahahahaha *cough* *sneeze*

-E

13 08 2007
Joe P.

i humbly submit myself for our questions, oh mighty ‘Coma.

13 08 2007
Joe P.

um sorry that’s “your” questions. damn these fingerrrs

Leave a comment