National Security Presidential Directive 51 Or Enduring Constitutional Government

30 07 2007

The Commercial Appeal has a story that I think is pretty scary. And none of us knew very much about it.

President Bush, on a spring day on May 9th, signed a directive. It’s a plan, a blueprint if you will, that would, in case of disaster, set up a plan for the White House.

The plan, embodied in National Security Presidential Directive 51 (NSPD-51), was issued without fanfare by Bush on May 9. It draws upon blueprints prepared by past administrations stretching back to the Truman administration.

The latest directive underscores long-standing presidential authority to declare a “catastrophic emergency” and coordinate “enduring constitutional government.”

But it also awards the president broader authority to take over disaster recovery from state officials and calls on federal authorities to provide “appropriate support” to the vice president to orchestrate any post-attack recovery, if necessary.

Bush says the new plan for dealing with a catastrophic emergency would “enable a more rapid and effective response to and recovery from a national emergency.”

Bush has ordered White House homeland security adviser Frances Townsend to develop details for the plan by Aug. 10.

But the general outline of the plan already has stirred heated reactions across the political spectrum.

The Doomsday Plan?

Just read the whole thing, and when you are done, allow me to be a conspiracy theorist for a moment please. Go to this picture and see when it was unveiled. Then see that our president doesn’t have an end date on the bust. It could be nothing, in all honesty. But, I’m being Fox Muldar right now so allow me to shake in fear for a few minutes. Then we will go back to talking about movie and zombies because they aren’t real.

Yikes.

Oh yeah, we are doing a $20 million dollar arms deal with the Saudi Government.

I’m going back to watch Shark Week. It’s a much safer environment.


Actions

Information

15 responses

30 07 2007
autoegocrat

Ugh. That report is rather thin on details. It mentions nothing about the legally vague language of NSPD 51, failing entirely to describe the substance of the cause for alarm.

NSPD 51 was issued on May 9. Today is July 30, and we’re just now hearing about this from the mainstream press? Bah.

30 07 2007
newscoma

Auto, my thoughts as well. All of Bush’s directives are “thin” on details and it makes me want to snort.
There is always something scurrying right outside of the American public’s eyesight.
I will raise your “bah” to a “feh.”
😉

30 07 2007
grandefille

And y’all think this and the Saudi arms deal are not related.

December 2008 to mid-January 2009, watch the bombs start flyin’ and el Dumbya declare himself president for life. Because we can’t possibly change prezzes in mid-war, now can we?

Actually, move that date range up to an October surprise. Because why have somebody new waiting in the wings to take over?

I pray, deeply, that I am wrong.

I fear, greatly, that I won’t be.

30 07 2007
blindersoff

Clinton was on point when he stated in a news article before the 2004 elections, “If Bush is re-elected we will not recognize America.” The leadership we have now is very scary and Grandefile I hope you are wrong about your prediction.

30 07 2007
Rick Maynard

I’ve been putting together a YouTube video of the absolutely ridiculous things that end up being said on Fox News. Over the course of the last day, I’ve seen enough of Fran Townsend on those clips to think that she shouldn’t be trusted to pick up the office lunch order, much less developing disaster plans.

“Heckuva job, Townie.”

30 07 2007
Klinde

This has absolutely nothing to do with this post; however, there was a “Bat Boy” sighting….. Apparently my step son has Batman pj’s complete with cape…. When I saw him in them, I immediately thought of you and let out a major cackle!! Bat Boy lives in Tennessee!!!

31 07 2007
Winston

I’ve been predicting for at least a couple of years that this would happen. The arrogant little sumbitch is determined to not let go of the controls and turn it over to anyone else. We will have some kind of horrific “event” prior to next elections that will give him justification to invoke the powers he granted to himself under NSPD-51 and become de facto emperor for life.

And Congress sleeps…

31 07 2007
cravensworld

Why are we trading arms with the Saudis? I’ve read the directive at least twice, I have it right here in front of me. I sure do hope that we have an uneventful election year.

31 07 2007
Phreadom
31 07 2007
Jeffraham Prestonian

You have to look on the bright side, though: It’s possible that someone thought the odds were good that Chimpy would buy the farm by choking on a pretzel (or some equally dumbass method, like falling off a Segway) between 2006-2009.
.

2 08 2007
grandefille

It’s possible that someone thought the odds were good that Chimpy would buy the farm by choking on a pretzel

Dude, I still say Barney will take him out if Mrs. Beasley will just create a diversion.

But the thought of him gone and The Big Dick in power chillls me to my marrow. I alomst ran off the road last Saturday when they came on the radio and said that Cheney was in control. (Well,officially. He has been since 2001. But anyway.)

Because so many people wanted a feller they could drink a beer with, we have this. My lord, my lord.

2 08 2007
newscoma

Grandfille, your last two sentences make so much sense and that I never thought about it that way makes me doubt my own intellect.
Man, that’s so true.

This nation’s apparent need for a folksy president.
Argh.

3 08 2007
grandefille

Baby, never doubt YOUR intellect. It is precious and fine. (Like you.)

I had several people tell me, on the record, in 2000 that they didn’t vote for Al for prez because “he’s just too smart.”

Not that they disagreed with his politics, not that they couldn’t understand why he didn’t dtich Clinton, not that he did particular things they couldn’t abide.

He’s “just too smart,” they said.

Because of course we want that D-minus effer in the back row making fart noises with his underarm during geometry class to have his finger on the button, NOT the geek with his hand raised who’s correcting the teacher’s theorem.

That noise you heard then, and continue to hear occasionally, was my head asplodin’.

(Notice I don’t mention Kerry, who while smart is also a pompous self-righteous ass. Al’s a geek, but he’s a sincere geek.)

10 08 2007
Nashville is Talking » Neocons: To save America, we need another 9/11

[…] Coma had something on this earlier. […]

17 10 2007
Dave

hmmm… Directive 51 huh… Look it up online and compare to Hitler’s Directive 51… see where we’re going?

Leave a comment