Carnies, Politics And Rural Conversations

4 09 2008

I didn’t see Sarah Palin’s speech last night because I was watching the carnies work, drinking beer and taking pictures at Faith Night at the Tennessee Soybean Festival.

Now before all of this, I had a conversation with my retired alderman friend who I will call Bob because that is his name. He is a devout Republican, and other than tweaking my chains sometimes, we have some pretty good conversations.

We talked about economic development and that rural areas were suffering. He thought Sarah Palin got it, I said I wasn’t so sure about that. He kidded me that at least she wasn’t Muslim. I told him to stop that nonsense and he laughed because he was teasing me. I then asked him how he felt because he’s in his late 60s. He told me he was kinda tired and I came back at him that John McCain was three years older than him.

“Point taken,” he laughed. We do this. It’s fine and it’s between us.

Then we talked about local leadership and I asked him if mayors and reps and the like were being handcuffed to a degree due to the economy.

“They are,” he said. “Money trickles down. It always has. And it goes to where there is already money or a possibility of making money. We don’t have the money we once did. It’s a little bit scary.”

I love talking to people that, although ideologically we are completely different, we are the same in one respect and that is we like Hoots and we want to see it thrive. With the festival going on, there is a little bit of relief and hope of better things although it will be business as usual come Monday. We are anticipating 10,000 people tonight, Friday and Saturday.

This is good.

I wandered off to go see my beloved carnies, one who is apparently named Doorknob, but they were still having no part of me so I bought a polish sausage, took some pics and watched a band sing that was pretty good.

With that all said, I keep going back to my conversation with Bob.

We are all really the same in so many ways.

Actions

Information

5 responses

4 09 2008
bridgett

*off-topic, sorry*
Didn’t know how else to get this to you, but thought it was a nice piece that you’d be interested in reading about how to cover riots:

http://www.minnpost.com/stories/2008/09/03/3342/how_to_cover_a_riot

4 09 2008
newscoma

Thanks Bridgett! Headed there now.

4 09 2008
Chris

you and Bob are lucky to have each other. i’m jealous. my republican friends are not so easy to have a chat with as ol’ Bob.

and that is putting it mildly.

4 09 2008
jim voorhies

“I’m not saying that photographers are dumber than other people, but they are the folks who walk around with brilliant white lights in nighttime riots.”

Heh. Excellent article, Bridgett.

4 09 2008
newscoma

Bridgett, Jim is right. That was great!

Leave a Reply

