First Night In Denver

26 08 2008

I’m going to take a moment to talk about last night’s speeches in Denver. I’m going to take a personal look at it as I have no doubt that the blogosphere will be filled with some admiration, some snark and some downright hostility about what happened last night.

I thought Ted Kennedy fired everyone up. My mother had a malignant brain tumor. She had trouble functioning at times so my fascination with the Lion had as much to do with the personal connection I have of having a family member ill and seeing that he looked strong and sounded fantastic. I know this is going to given a “‘Coma’s drinking the Kool-Aid again” from some of my online buddies, but I thought he did well, as did Michelle Obama, who also opened a bit of the door into her husband’s life.

I’ve often said that there are intimate things that catch people’s attention. Small, intricate details that have great meaning for one person may mean nothing to another. Every opinion, although it may disagree with mine, is of value.

I said last night on Twitter that I miss optimism although I must admit that I’m not very optimistic about politics as a whole. I want my own Camelot. I am also a realist and realize that is just a nostalgic pipe dream. I used to sit at my mother’s feet as a child listening to the stories of how smitten she was with a young president who she admired in a time of Elvis, The Beatles and putting a man on the moon.

That time is over and I am not naive.

I have decided, as I do on occasion, to avoid blogs that use words like Dimmocrats and Rethuglicans because it adds nothing to the political landscape, nor does McSame or Obamabot. It’s just my preference. I work at a job where I hear these things for a living. Every day.

When I’m home, I need a break.

I’m also taking a siesta from the ongoing political punditry on cable news channels. The spin is out of control. It’s like beating a dead horse after awhile.

So, I’m going to watch the convention. I’ll probably write about it.

I realize this is a rambling post, but I’m tired of a nation guided by a regime of fear over the past few years. I’m going with hope.

Actions

Information

9 responses

26 08 2008
Barry

A regime of fear?

26 08 2008
newscoma

Well, you know, fear. I guess that came off strong. It was pre-coffee.

26 08 2008
Beth

first of all, I have to say I’m undecided as to who I will vote for. I’m a reformed Republican – I didn’t leave that party, the party left me. I now consider myself a very moderate independent.

And, like you, I will watch the conventions (on PBS or C-SPAN — I don’t have cable but it’s a good way to avoid most of the network talking heads) and do my best to avoid the spin.

Regarding “hope” and “change” — I keep hearing these buzzwords, and while I admit they are powerful, I haven’t heard any elaboration on how hope will be restored and change implemented. Perhaps there will be more elaboration on Thursday when BO speaks, but you can’t run a country on emotion.

26 08 2008
lovable liberal

There are no Camelots (almost spelled it Comalot!) except after the fact. Our love and hope for JFK were real (well, ok, I was 5), but they were turned into his eulogy. Same for Arthur.

But I want my own Camelot too. Without the tragedy.

26 08 2008
nm

What Beth said about C-Span. Camera on the podium and that’s it.

The opening night of the convention is supposed to set the tone; I think it did so. I expect H. Clinton to point out what’s wrong with McCain, I expect Biden to point out what Obama will do about that, and then I expect Obama to get down to specifics. At least, considering who they are and the order they’re speaking in, that’s my prediction.

And there are no Camelots without tragedy. It isn’t just hindsight that gives the golden glow, it’s the retrospective realization that things were (or felt) better then. If things continue to improve, there’s no nostalgia.

26 08 2008
newscoma

Well said from everyone. I keep wondering what change will happen, if any.

26 08 2008
Beth

I keep wondering what change will happen, if any.

I hate to be a wet blanket here, but the Dems proclaimed that once they took over control, that change would be implemented. We see how much they’ve gotten done… Sadly, until these rich stuffed shirts have to worry about mundane day to day issues like affording health-care and paying their electric bill on a regular Joe’s salary, I don’t think the issues of fly-over country will truly matter, or be the hot topic on the table, other than during election years…

“meet the new boss, same as the old boss…”

26 08 2008
nm

The Democrats don’t control Congress, though. They’ve passed legislation that Bush has vetoed, but they don’t have enough seats to over-ride the veto. And in the Senate, even their “majority” depends on Lieberman, who won’t challenge Bush on anything. This will probably all change after November, when it looks like there will be a little more wiggle room. That said, I’m not impressed with the Congressional leadership. I’d sure like to see Clinton replace Reid as majority leader in the Senate, and someone more active replace Pelosi as Speaker.

26 08 2008
Beth

for whatever reason they haven’t gotten things done, they still made all those empty promises to get in… and I think there are a lot of people who remember that… in the past week alone, I’ve had several people (hard line Dems, mind you) express their disgust with Pelosi and company

Leave a Reply

