John McCain Doesn’t Know How Many Houses He Owns

21 08 2008

Jeez.

John McCain said in an interview with Politico on Wednesday “that he was uncertain how many houses he and his wife, Cindy, own.”

“I think — I’ll have my staff get to you,” McCain said. “It’s condominiums where — I’ll have them get to you.”

The answer, according to the group Progressive Accountability, is an even 10 homes, ranches, condos, and lofts, together worth a combined estimated $13,823,269.

What does one say? How can he know what people living on peanut butter and ramen noodles need? I’m not saying that Barack Obama isn’t a rich dude too but can anyone with this much money really understand how someone making $30,000 grand a year is financially surviving?

Seriously. I find this disconcerting. I don’t begrudge folks having money. I just want them to understand everyone’s plight because those are the majority of the folks I know.

Actions

Information

7 responses

21 08 2008
chez beziat

I agree with you. I’ve known a couple of really kind-hearted rich people who have no idea.

21 08 2008
sadcox

Is it fair to ask if he obtained the mortgages on these homes by shady means?

For the record, I’m no fan of either of these guys, and I don’t think either of them have a clue or a care about how the other 90% live.

21 08 2008
newscoma

I agree with both of you. I wonder when that 90 percent is going to call out the leaders of this nation that have no idea about what they are going through though?
I do this story will have some legs, Sadcox. Just don’t know where it will take us.

21 08 2008
Double Whammy: Senior Moment AND Out Of Touch : Post Politics: Political News and Views in Tennessee

[…] McCain is not for sure how many houses he has and Barack Obama is all over it will this colorful […]

21 08 2008
Slartibartfast

Considering how many millionaires there are in Washington, and how insular that world is, I really can’t think of a single person in Washington,outside of a few civil service employees, who would have any first-hand understanding of how thing are for us regular schmoes.

I miss James Trafficant. I don’t care if he was a crook, he seemed for the most part like a regular guy, and he seemed to be a genuine, not make-believe populist.

21 08 2008
Lee

I miss James Trafficant.

I wouldn’t go that far. He was found guilty.

But his hair. Hoo boy, that stuff was something else.

21 08 2008
lovable liberal

This could be McCain’s macaca moment. Here’s hoping!

Look, the President isn’t going to be a normal person. There are some good things about that (imagine the assistant manager at the 7-11 running the country), and there are some bad things (it’s our country and should be run for our benefit).

What I am really tired of is the Presidency being held by guys who have so little conscience that they’re happy to pose fraudulently as normal or below. It’s fine and even important to have the common touch, but all this brush clearing and pork rind eating is more bullshit than I can stand. And the one guy whose parents actually thought, like mine, that not even a somewhat privileged, educated kid should grow up without doing some manual labor? He couldn’t even win his home state.

Leave a Reply

