The Weekend At Bernies Funeral

20 08 2008

Oh dear.

A funeral home used a special embalming treatment to keep the corpse of 24-year-old Angel Pantoja Medina standing upright for his three-day wake.

Dressed in a Yankees baseball cap and sunglasses, Pantoja was mourned by relatives while propped upright in his mother’s living room.

Rest in peace, Angel Pantoja Medina, but I have to say this is pretty creepy but if it’s what you wanted, so be it.

H/T YesButNoButYes

UPDATE: Due to some really foul language that was left by several commenters on this post. I’ve closed comments and deleted some of the comments that were offensive. Enough is enough.

Actions

Information

13 responses

20 08 2008
jagosaurus

I…uh…what?

20 08 2008
Paul Chenoweth

Maybe he was just a “Stand Up” guy (‘sorry, I couldn’t resist).

20 08 2008
jarhead

@Paul Chenoweth-

Oooo… cheesy but I’ll give you a standing ovation anyway.

20 08 2008
Ron

Why did they pose him so he’s grabbing his crotch? Does his zombie have crabs?

20 08 2008
chrisyub

just a little bit taxidermy-ish

20 08 2008
jane q. public

Hilarious, yet disturbing. That’s the best I’ve seen since this!

20 08 2008
newscoma

You are a goddess, we were talking about this just a couple of hours ago.

20 08 2008
raincoaster

Classy.

20 08 2008
Frank

When I was in high school a classmate whose father was a preacher drowned in a local lake while swimming after a baptism. His parents had him embalmed and then promptly propped him up in a chair in front of their living room’s picture window so everyone could drive by and see him.

After a couple days and a lot of traffic, local officials stepped in.

22 08 2008
Laureen

FOR ALL OF THE PEOPLE THAT LEFT NASTY COMMENTS, I HOPE YOU GO STRAIGHT TO HELL. YOU SHOULD BE ASHAMED OF YOURSELF. WHAT IF THIS WAS YOUR BROTHER OR EVEN YOUR FATHER, HOW WOULD YOU FEEL???? THIS IS THE QUESTION YOU SHOULD HAVE ASKED YOURSELF BEFORE SENDING THESE HORRIBLE COMMENTS.IF THAT WAS HIS WISH, I’M HAPPY IT CAME TRUE FOR HIM.

22 08 2008
jackie

hey everybody its a weekend at bernie’s part 3 LOL….BUT PUERTO RICAN STYLE….

22 08 2008
newscoma

Lauren, I get what you are saying, but no one here left a nasty comment. Actually, there were curious. And for your other comments, the profanity isn’t going to happen here.
I am glad he had the funeral he wanted, but it’s different.
We said that.
It’s different and we were intrigued. We all here want him peace. BUT …
It was unique.
And that’s cool.

22 08 2008
jackie

HEY LAUREN….IF I’M GOIN 2 HELL 4 MY COMMENTS I’LL DIE LAUGHIN.. BUT STANDIN UP WITH A COOR’S BEER IN MY HAND!!! LOL….SORRY BUT 2 EVERYONE IT IS A JOKE I ALWAYS RESPECTED THE DEAD ..BUT THIS ONE TOOK THE CAKE!!!!




