AT&T = Epic Fail

16 08 2008

This was so weird to see in my Google Reader this a.m.

Winston Rand, who passed away recently is still being held responsible for an AT&T contract. So he is posting from they heavens. (Or Roomie is) but despite it all, why is a dead man being held to a cell phone contract.

Now I — and mind you, I am ashes sitting on the end table in the living room — am getting a $360 bill from AT&T for contract termination fees. Too bad, they say. No such thing as extenuating circumstances. They’re sorry I am dead. But they don’t care. I’ve got to pay that fee. It’s a contract, after all. A contract is a legal document. Legal documents go with you to the grave and beyond. They wish they could help, but they can’t. AT&T is a big boy and they aim to keep their side of the bargain.

So folks, I’m back! At least according to AT&T. I’ve got to pay my phone bill till January of 2010. Now I’ve just got to figure out how to get my ass, uh, ashes up and together and get out and earn some money to pay that damn bill because, well, it’s a contract and AT&T really needs that $360!

AT&T, this is ridiculous!

Hacks me off.

Actions

Information

3 responses

16 08 2008
holly

I definitely had to do a double-take when I saw “nobody asked” highlighted in my feed reader. I’ve seen other people say the same thing. AT&T debacle aside, this says something to me about how we’ve all apparently kept him around. Very moving to me.

16 08 2008
Chris

AT&T does indeed play the hardball. I know this firsthand.

17 08 2008
Enjoy a Coffee With TN Progressive Bloggers « The Crone Speaks

[…] Newscoma: AT&T = Epic Fail and Random Thoughts and Martin Plant To Close (”A plant that has been around for most of my […]

Leave a Reply

