Advice To The Young ‘Uns

8 08 2008

A bunch of the cool kids are having birthdays today and are getting well wishes on Twitter. It got me to thinking that I was sneaking cigarettes and had already been through Watergate when they were not on this planet.

Getting older isn’t really a problem. I’m old enough to know better but too young to care in a lot of respects. Hit 40 and you will find that all the things that bothered you at 30 don’t matter much anymore. You find a place where it’s more than all right to just be you.

Ahh, there are issues, mind you. Chin hair (what the hell is up with that crap and ain’t it sexy.) Two cups of coffee in the morning and not the whole pot I used to drink because if I did I would spontaneously combust. A sense of mortality, and why I didn’t just become an obit writer, I have no idea. Explaining to the 23-year-old in my office that I call my car Steve Austin after The Six Million Dollar Man television show and not the wrestler whom I believe is nicknamed Stone Cold.

Do I look my age? Yeah, although I’d like to say I didn’t. Do I act my age? Well, that is relative, isn’t it? Sometimes I do. Sometimes I don’t. Depends on the day and if the voices in my head are yakking at me. They don’t listen very well.

Although Michael Silence sent us to our rooms earlier this week as he tried to drum up a mid-life crisis, I only feel the effects every once in a while quite honestly. Sometimes I am braver than I was in my younger days (which could constitute being very stupid) then other times I’m more careful (which could constitute me being a wuss.)

I’ve realized I’m neither the best at anything, or the worse, I just am.

So, you young ‘uns having a birthday, Here is some advice from Newscoma. Don’t sweat the small stuff. Treat other people the way you want to be treated. Do things you are afraid to do. Don’t listen to Bill Hobbs and eat more fruit.

You’ll thank me for this later, I assure you.

Actions

Information

6 responses

8 08 2008
Beth

That is good advice at any age.

My own addition: don’t worry about things you can’t control.

8 08 2008
newscoma

That’s a great one.

8 08 2008
Ron

Do you have any recommendations regarding the chin hair problem? It’s been a recurring problem since I was about 13, and it’s only getting worse!

All japes aside, that’s great advice that I’m trying my damnedest to follow every day. It’s harder than it looks, but in the words of Jules Winfield, “I’m tryin’ real hard to be a shepherd.”

Y’know, if you could trade in your crazy hair for big green ears, you’d make a hell of a Yoda.

8 08 2008
GingerSnaps

Good advice for me…um…I’ll consider myself a young ‘un…even at 41. 🙂

8 08 2008
TV

Kick ass.

8 08 2008
holly

You are the best, and I can only pray to have a thimbleful of your coolness, heart, moxie, and true beauty when I’m your age. Thank you for the advice–I cherish it.

Leave a Reply

