Tommy Maddox

7 08 2008

I got the call about 5 p.m. yesterday. It was Homer and she sounded upset.

“Tommy Maddox has been killed in a car wreck. His truck got hit by an 18-Wheeler,” she said, her voice breaking.

I was trying to get Steve Austin, my car, back and then was headed out to find Steve McNair who was visiting Hoots because his nephews are apparently playing for the local college.

It took me a second for this news to sink in.

“Where?” I said. I’m all business during bad news. I always have been.

“Over near McKenzie,” she said. I don’t know if she was crying but she sounded like she was about to. “I feel so bad for Mrs. Bonnie. No one needs to lose a child.”

Homer, despite her edgy disposition, goes to church with Mrs. Bonnie and Mark Maddox. She’s good that way. I don’t go and she doesn’t judge me in the least.

Tommy was a bit older than me but we went to church together when we were kids. Mark and he were older than Homer and I, and my mom for a brief time created a youth group at the church. She was a musician and she put on Jesus Christ Superstar and Godspell back in the 70s. It was scandalous at the time.

I called and confirmed it. He was killed just as Homer had said.

I abandoned my press stalking of McNair which I wasn’t too enthusiastic about anyway (I’m not good at stalking. Paparazzi I’m not), got my car back (finally) and headed home.

Homer looked like she’d been hit with an anvil.

And her quiet yet desperate sadness made me cry.

“You handle this stuff better than I do,” she said on the phone as I was on my way home. “I would never want to lose you. I wouldn’t know what to do. You are so important to me. I can’t imagine what Mark is going through right now. This is just horrible.”

We are wishing Mark and Mrs. Bonnie peace right now during this terrible time.

Tommy was good people. He had big bedroom eyes, was a hard-working stiff like the rest of us and had a quick smile.

He was a big part of my childhood. He will be missed.

Actions

Information

7 responses

7 08 2008
Prayers For Rep. Mark Maddox : Post Politics: Political News and Views in Tennessee

[…] His brother has died in a tragic car accident. Newscoma has a remembrance. […]

7 08 2008
pshaw

No way. Mark’s brother? Time to e-mail people. I’m sorry.

7 08 2008
chez beziat

I’m so sorry to read this. My condolences to his friends and family.

7 08 2008
Scout

Heard about this last night at church and, like everyone else, was completely floored. He taught our adult Sunday school class.
My heart goes out to all of them and also to Tommy’s wife who is experiencing the tragic loss of a husband for the second time.

7 08 2008
Diane Watkins Brown

To Tommys Family and To Kim and her family you are in my thoughts and prayers.

Former Classmate,
Diane Watkins Brown
Knoxville TN

7 08 2008
Lynnster

I’m so sorry about your friend, ‘Coma. Thinking of you.

9 08 2008
dkwalker

Hi, i am a neighbor of Kim and Tommy, good people, too bad had to die early, we are all feeling sorry for Kim and family. Love everyone

Leave a Reply

