Teach Your Children Well

29 07 2008

I’ve been reading quite a bit about the Knoxville shootings. Two people dead, hundreds of people seeing a man give his life to save theirs, a day where children woke up, excited to be in a musical in front of their friends, their family and their fellowship.

For the people in the church, for those people burying their dead, this isn’t a political issue. It’s an issue of grief and loss. Of the real horrors in this world where a madman walks into a church and starts shooting. The reality that nothing makes sense.

And then I read this passage from Michael Silence this morning and if I lived in Knoxville, I’d like to just sit at the end of this desk and offer silent support because no truer words have been written.

Show the world Knoxville will unite and progress together and not fall into the black hole of hate. Please, let’s see some strong, firm, united and resolute leadership on this. Keep moving forward, because if you are not, you’re going backwards. The time is now, this morning, this minute, for leadership by example. Give our teachers a direction to point our children toward. Now!

When I was 13-years-old, a girl’s body was found, raped and mutilated in the woods here in Hooterville. Her name was Cary Ann Medlin and her murderer, Robert Glen Coe, was the first man put to death in this state in recent history after years of sitting on death row. As an adult, I covered his hearings and saw the emptiness in him. The darkness was so black that not only did my skin crawl but I had to make myself keep looking at him. He not only took a child’s life but he took the innocence of this area away from us. We no longer rode bikes all over town. We didn’t wander the streets like we did before Medlin’s death. He took so much.

After he raped her, 8-years-old, Medlin told her “Jesus Loves You.” He stabbed her in the throat. As a reporter, years after her murder, I saw the pictures. I can’t unsee them, you know.

When I heard of the shootings, I thought of Coe. I thought of the families who will all be scarred by this. I thought of Medlin’s family and of the Coes.

I thought of the shock that Knoxville is going through right now.

I thought of the loss.

This isn’t a political issue to me. This is about how in the blink of an eye the world can change. And how it affects everyone. Stew was the biggest liberal you’d ever meet. Not one of us thought of his politics when he died.

The story by Granju hit me the hardest. Adkisson is a madman. His “excuse” of shooting up a church most likely has as much to do with his ex-wife being an ex-parishioner than anything else.

We need to let these people heal. All of these people from the family to the city of Knoxville.

Actions

Information

3 responses

29 07 2008
cravensworld

Yeah, I’m not really digging on how this is being trotted out as a political or gun rights issue. It doesn’t have shit to do with that. Let the people of that church have some time to bury their loved ones in peace.

29 07 2008
captainkona

We understand where you’re coming from, darlin’.
But this has to remain in the public view and the MSM is already trying to bury it.
The threat of Right Wing terrorism is obviously very real and people have to be aware of the origins of this violence in order to take precautions and attempt to understand the kind of diseased mind that commits it.

Americans have to know what kind of threat we’re dealing with right here at home. It does not come from Arabs, It comes from the political Right.

Hugs….

31 07 2008
Collectively Broken? « The Lynnster Zone

[…] Ann Medlin’s body was found raped and mutilated in the woods in a nearby town when I was 13 – a tragedy that Newscoma, my age and growing up in the next town over at the time, referred to the ot… – still I continued to hoof it around town by myself all the time, albeit with probably some […]

Leave a Reply

