Blogging About Blogging

15 07 2008

Do you ever get to that point in your blogging, non-virtual world where you run out of ideas?

Yeah, me too.

I sometimes struggle thinking whether or not I should post about my mindthink on politics (remember, I’ve become a conspiracy theorist, heh) and then sometimes I’ll post things that interest me.

Other times I navel gaze and talk about Homer (who is in Gatlingburg and got caught in the toxic spill on I-40. She had no idea what was going on other than she was stuck in traffic. If I know her hubby, Squeegee Monkey well at all, he refused to turn Fred off of XM which might have helped them understand their predicament.) The people who she is with are making her go to Dixie Stampede. I’ve heard of Dixie Stampede but I’m unsure if this is Homer’s thing. I don’t know if watching buffaloes run while eating will entice her. Then again, she might love it. One never knows.

We could start a Zombie Stampede restaurant. (Write this down in Newscoma’s brilliant ideas that never reach fruition.)

I’ve always thought the best thing to do is just blog about what you want to. There is also a new blogging age going on, in my humble opinion, where bloggers are going to go to their niche. I sometimes read new media strategists and think “Man, that’s cool. What the hell are they talking about?” I also read some mommy bloggers who are clever and think “I love my nieces but, man, that is a lot of responsibility.”

I tend to like the disc jockey approach to blogging but that’s just me. The days of BG being at the old Nashville is Talking is over. And with blogs monetizing (which I plan to do as well. Call me a sell out and also, if you know how to do technically groovy things, let me know) things are changing.

We create our own brand. True story, an A-Lister that will remain unnamed told me I was too all over the place. I thought about that because if an A-Lister said it, it has to be true. Right?

Well, wrong actually.

I thought about it and finally determined that for me, I like being all over the place. I’m okay with that. As long as I do this as a hobby, I will do what I want to. If I get paid, I’ll blog about whatever the entities paying me want me to write about. Until that time, you are stuck with liberal politics, Bigfoot, Zombies, goofy pictures and life in Hoots.

As for the black widow bitch of a spider that chomped on my foot. Well, my leg this morning does feel like it’s going to fall off but I don’t have the big gaping wound that some folks get. Last year, Killa got bit on her upper thigh and let it go several hours. Bless her heart, that girl was illing and I was worried about her. After seeing her and her hubby struggle with it all (he got bit too), I decided to go in to the doctor immediately. I think I’m going to have a luckier time but it hurts more today than yesterday. Back to drug therapy as this is a bit more painful than I had imagined.

Did I mention I hate spiders?

I did. Well, I’m repeating myself.

Blogging is about being a modern day pamphleteer making your ideas flow. Be it a discipline to communication or writing, promoting yourself or banging the drum for your cause.

You aren’t going to please everyone but if you please yourself, you win. And it it moves to another level, then that, my friends, is of the good.

Now, go see Bobblehead George in Greece. My gift to you.

Actions

Information

14 responses

15 07 2008
Slartibartfast

coma – what’s cool about blogging is that you CAN do both.

I write one blog all over the place. I write another one that is extremely targeted.

I make money through the targeted one. I satisfy my creative needs at the one that’s all over the place.

I actually have another one that’s a secret identity, which is kind of cool in a super hero kind of way. No, I’m not telling – that would betray the super hero code.

The important thing is to find a way to be yourself in all the places you write. Because there are evil, snotty people out there who will look for inconsistencies to use them against you. If you are true to yourself, all will be well.

15 07 2008
missybw

I too am a lot like you, only not as good. But I look at my blog as my scribble pad. Yes, my mind is that random. That’s how I am. I know that I could raise my numbers considerably if I targeted a topic and stayed on it. But I won’t, because that’s boring to me. I don’t blog to bore myself, only to bore others. Keep on doing what you’re doing… you’re good at it. I like it, lots of others do too. And besides, somebody has to talk for Mabel… if not you then who?

15 07 2008
newscoma

Thanks guys. Just processing this all out this a.m. You guys are great.

15 07 2008
heartbreaktown

I like your precisely because you are “all over the place”. I have varied interests and your blog is like a present everyday – you never know what you’re gonna get but you know it’s either going to make you smile or make you think – but it always improves your day.

15 07 2008
heartbreaktown

Sorry about the typos. stupid brain, stupid hands.

15 07 2008
Russ

I agree with heartbreaktown: the appeal of your blog is due in large part to its variety.

And I think the Zombie Stampede is an awesome idea.

15 07 2008
sadcox

Niche, niche, niche. That’s what everybody says. I figured out that I actually have the perfect niche–ME! I have a monopoly on it. There may not be a market out there, but oh well.

I like your brand. And I think a Zombie Stampede would be cool to watch from the stands. What about a Zombie vs. Bigfoot pie eating contest?

15 07 2008
newscoma

If we make it a hot dog eating contest, we will get all the pervs from search engine searches.
I’m in.

15 07 2008
sadcox

If we make it a hot dog eating contest, we will get all the pervs from search engine searches.

Uh, that was actually my secret motivation behind “pie” eating. 😛

15 07 2008
newscoma

Sadcox, I’ve decided I want you to be my life coach. 🙂

15 07 2008
GingerSnaps

True story, an A-Lister that will remain unnamed told me I was too all over the place. I thought about that because if an A-Lister said it, it has to be true. Right?

Well, wrong actually.

Amen! I decided awhile back to not try to please anybody but myself, because I was driving myself crazy trying to figure out the right formula to please everybody else. I like the Sarcastro approach to blogging: I do this to amuse me. (…or something to that effect…you get the idea…) Guess what: I have more readers now than I ever have, and I just write about things that interest me…and I love that it might strike a nerve with someone else from time to time.

As for you, my dear friend…you are GREAT at what you do…there isn’t a day that goes by that you do not make me smile. I have learned from you, and you have touched my life….Mostly through this here blog.

You are wonderful and I love what you do. Don’t go changing to try and please anybody but yourself.

15 07 2008
newscoma

Thank you, Ginger. That means a lot.

16 07 2008
Lindsey

If you need a partner in your Zombie Stampede venture, give me a ringaling. *makes obligatory phone-to-face gesture*

18 07 2008
MissSharonCobb

You should do what you want with your blog!
Like you, “I’m all over the place.” But what both of us do falls under “pop culture.”
That doesn’t stop advertisers. What they care about is consistency.

The *only* compromise I’ve made since accepting advertising is I don’t say “f***” anymore. I’ll type it out just like I did here. But other than that, I haven’t changed one thing for ads.

I don’t know what “A lister” told you you’re all over the place, but so am I, and I bet I’m making more $$$ than him/her from blogging, so there! 😛

Go for it just the way you are!!!

Leave a Reply

