Audio Darkness

6 07 2008

This issue of not being able to hear, well, it’s bothering me.

My father has roughly lost anywhere from 60 to 75 percent hearing loss in both of his ears. The hearing aids wig him out although he would never admit that but he refuses to wear them. My grandfather wore a hearing aid but that was mainly because an artillery shell went off near his ear when he stormed the beach of Saipan during WWII. Of course, no one knows if he had hearing loss or not.

I realize it’s the strep throat (SHUT UP, ‘COMA! WE ARE TIRED OF THE DAMNED STREP THROAT TALK!) but then again it’s still very disconcerting. I can’t hear very well at all and it bothers me. The pressure is a bit uncomfortable and I’m walking around like a monkey with a bottle of Jack Daniels. With this strep, I’ve lost about 40 percent hearing capability in my left ear and maybe 35 percent in my right.

Hell, I’m just making up numbers but you know where I’m going with this.

It’s odd not being able to hear. The telephone is impossible. The television is muffled and I’m probably freaking out the neighbors. My nieces, bless their hearts, sound like chipmunks who have had a couple of Harvey Wallbangers. The people I work with have been more than kind as I’ve stared at them blankly not knowing a word coming out of their mouths. They have given me the space to recover which I will always be grateful for and appreciate.

Guys, it’s weird.

It’s muffled audio darkness.

I don’t like it.

UPDATE: Sadcox makes it better. Until I hear the sonic boom. ๐Ÿ™‚

Photo from here

Actions

Information

6 responses

6 07 2008
sista

It can be handy. My grandfather, the famous Pop Collie, wore a hearing aid. He’s been dead since 1979 so his hearing aid was the sort that was the box that hung on a string around his neck. It would make these garsh-awful noises. Anyhoo, sometimes, he’d cut the thing off when he didn’t want to hear what was going on. I think they call that “Selective Hearing”.

My Dad shoulda worn one but always refused out of vanity, the egomaniac, but nice guy, that he was.

6 07 2008
newscoma

Same as my dad, Sista. Same as my dad. ๐Ÿ™‚
He hates it. I don’t know if it’s because you can see the small tube or if it’s background noise he isn’t interested in. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

6 07 2008
Rob Robinson

Wow, Newscoma. I can’t believe you are still having trouble hearing because of strep. I hope you feel better post haste! ๐Ÿ™‚

6 07 2008
newscoma

Thank you Rob. Headed back to the doctor. It’s weird.
(And I used to be a disc jockey so I ain’t digging it.)
Thanks again for your kind words. ๐Ÿ™‚

6 07 2008
On Hearing Loss | Hear ItFrom.Us

[…] just read Newscoma’s post about her strep throat related hearing loss.ย  Hers is temporary, but it’s still weird.ย  I lost my hearing temporarily once.ย  She can […]

26 07 2008
Annoying Autobiographical Pause #777 « Newscoma

[…] on the streets of where we live, watching the lightening crash around us. The thunder I could here. I still can’t hear as well as I could and I know that I’ve taken a hit. My dad has lost his hearing and I’m wondering if […]

Leave a Reply

