Annoying Autobiographical Pause #489

26 06 2008

I’ve sort of been in a cave for the month of June in an angry, bitter battle with my very own psyche that has given me internal chiggers.

Yay. I suck.

Steve Austin is still missing in action, I’ve got a wicked sinus infection of some sort so I’ve been taking random antibiotics just lying about the house that I think were for a UTI or for ailments which could be anything from Cootie protection to PMS help which is only known to the Gods, but I digress. Due to the lack of wheels and motivation, I’ve had to put the Goosepond Swamp Monster excursion on hold. All I know is that I feel like platypus vomit.

So I’ve been wondering about the innertubes, whining to my friends as I am human and then staring at a pair of yellow Crocs that I haven’t worn in over a year thinking this might give me some sign. Yeah, that’s my kind of interior design, campers. The Official Church of the Smelly-Assed, Ugly Crocs has given me no visions other that I probably should just throw them away.

I also bought a 24 oz can of Miller Lite the other day, not once but twice, which means I’m just too damned depressed or becoming a crazy dog lady with an inclination to ugly shoes.

Anytime that I believe anyone is planning life changing ideas, it can get very easy to hold on to the familiar that isn’t really healthy or productive as a lifeline. Here’s what I mean. It’s easier to do nothing and be angry/martyred about it then to DO something.

In the past year I have been trying to learn things outside my box. I fail sometimes, other times I do all right.

The one thing that escapes me is that after a very sad journey last year on a project that was halted before it even got up and started, I lost my mojo and became afraid of …. dun dun duuuuuun …

Technology and Movement.

I’ve been reading and trying to train myself but I think I’ve gone as far as I can go on my own. Now, I follow a ton of technology geeks who embrace their geekdom where I’m more of a pop culture/news/political geek. I don’t understand why Dave Winer and some guy named Loren are fighting on Friendfeed over some other guy named Shel Israel.

It seems very insidery to me and involves puppets.

You can’t make this up but I think it goes further than that.  I don’t understand the monetization of a website as well as I would like but I’m trying to learn. I may not be a techie but I am a pretty good DJ blogger for lack of a better term. I hear a lot of talk about rankings (I have a Google Page Rank of 5. I didn’t know what that meant until about two months ago. I also know I have 273 reactions on Technorati.) I think that’s alright, isn’t it?

I also know I like Brie, Import beer and sushi which I cannot get here in Hooterville, and yes, I’m still digressing.

I realized, in my daily ramblings though I do know one thing, and that is people. I’m not perfect but I forgot that was a pretty good skill to have. I’m a good listener when I can hear. (Heh, heh, I crack myself up.) I also am pondering the same life changes I was looking at a year ago. I think it’s time for me to shut up and do.

So, it’s an annoying autobiographical pause. I would like to thank Badger, SQ, Russ, Ivy and Ginger for listening and supporting me. This is a thank you to all of you.

And now that I’m done processing the unprocessable (I just made up a word. Yay Me!) go over to Sharon Cobb’s and wish her well. She’s having a rough time and everyone needs a kind word now and then.

Go on.

Actions

Information

7 responses

26 06 2008
cravensworld

hey, what are friends for. tis nothing. I know exactly how you feel, but hang in there. It’s just like walking. One foot in front of the other and eventually you’ll get there.

26 06 2008
scoutabout

Badger’s exactly right. Very wise that Badger is.
And you know what? I’m all for leading a march down to the mechanic’s shop, storming it and getting Steve Austin back. I nearly did this when it took forever to get E’s car back and now I’m fully prepared to go forward with it now.
So let’s meet up beforehand and break out the Miller Lite and the brie (I hear it’s good cheese, but, of course, I haven’t ever given it the time of day…but I’m willing to) and get your car back.:)

26 06 2008
Christian

Don’t throw away the golden crocs, Trace. Despite their nasty appearance, there’s some inspiration there.

26 06 2008
newscoma

When I get the car, I’m packing it up and going seeking enlightenment in places far from Hooterville.

26 06 2008
Russ

‘Coma, I’d be more than happy to help spring Steve Austin from prison. We’ll hatch a complicated plan to rescue him, and it’ll work perfectly I’m sure.

It’ll be just like the “Mod Squad,” only we’ll all be wearing crocs and drinking beer.

26 06 2008
Heather

I vote you seek some enlightenment down here. You and SQ will always be welcome.

27 06 2008
Rachel

Do I need to give you a lecture about inappropriate antibiotic use? 😉 Hope you feel better soon.

Leave a Reply

