I Need An Ear Horn

24 06 2008

I woke up yesterday morning and it was weird.

It’s was almost like someone had angrily rammed an afghan into both of my ears. Everything sounds tinny and echos.

This is odd.

The thing is, certain tones are excruciating. Talking on the telephone is like hearing fingernails on a chalkboard. This is very unusual. So last night, I took some high powered sinus stuff thinking that might help.

I woke up this morning groggy from the drugs and it’s twice as bad. And now my left ear is making everything sound like I’m listening to AM radio, circa 1974.

So, I’m going to the doctor because I’m stumbling around like kids at a rave.

Damn body doing whatever it wants to and not listening to my brain which is screaming “STOP IT!”

Very disconcerting. What bothers me is my dad is deaf as a doorknob so I am paying attention. I’m sure it’s nothing but one can’t help but be concerned.

I need one of these today.

Photo credit

Actions

Information

4 responses

24 06 2008
scoutabout

Yes, definitely get this checked out. I get this all the time, but as you know, I was born with defective ears.
Maybe they’ll wash you out with one of those high-powered water guns. Feels great but makes you quite dizzy after a little while.

24 06 2008
newscoma

Actually, that’s what I’ve been doing with some kit I got at CVS. It’s, in a word, nasty.
I have more empathy for you then you will ever know.
With dad’s hearing in the shitter, it does make me worry.

24 06 2008
heartbreaktown

Bodies suck. You’re going about your life and they F with ya.
Ear problems are some of the worst. I’m pullin’ for ya, Newsy! (If I may call you Newsy.)

24 06 2008
newscoma

Indeed you may. It has a good ring to it.

Leave a Reply

