Dody Goodman Dies

24 06 2008

BAC posted something I didn’t know. In all the hoopla recently over Tim Russert and George Carlin passing away, she alerts us to the passing of a comedienne that I really thought was fun.

Dody Goodman, whose ditzy comic persona was well known to patrons of theatre, film and television from the 1950s on, died June 22 at the Actors Fund Home in New Jersey, a spokesperson for the Fund confirmed.

If you aren’t familiar with Dody, go here. I’ll wait.

It’s the character actors of the world that hold my interest. The ones that worked consistently and didn’t appear on the covers of the tabloids. Oh yeah, she was a professional celebrity to a large degree. But she could back it up with smarts and talent.

Her obituary in the New York Times is here.

Godspeed, Dody. Godspeed.

Actions

Information

6 responses

24 06 2008
Sharon Cobb

I can’t believe I didn’t hear about this. Thank you for posting it.
I just finished watching 22 episodes of “Mary Hartman Mary Hartman,” (your friend Norman Lear’s brainchild) where she did a wonderful job as the ditsy mother.

I haven’t heard a thing about this on CNN or World News Now on ABC, which I watch during the night for live up to date news.

I am so glad you reported this. She was a wonderful actress and I know she brought me a lot of joy, and not doubt millions of others.

24 06 2008
newscoma

Thank you.
I felt the same way about Dodie. And I LOVE Mary Hartman Mary Hartman! 🙂

24 06 2008
captainkona

Ahh, Dodie. Thanx for the memories. 🙂

24 06 2008
squirrelqueen

I’m truly saddened by this. Dodie was the oomph in nearly every scene she inhabited.

25 06 2008
jeanie

I was lucky to see Dodie play the Mother Superior in Nunsense. Even luckier is my tap teacher, Bettye Morrow, who did a Broadway Show in 1952 with Dodie. It was at the Wintergarden Theatre and was called, ‘MY DARLIN’ AIDA’. They shared a dressing room.
Dodie was a funny, smart, warm, special, talented lady!! So true, Squirrelqueen!! She was the ‘oomph’ in every scene.
She will be missed.

26 06 2008
Richard Crystal

She was one of my favorite character actors. Thanks, Dody for all the laughs and making the world just a little bit happier.

Leave a Reply

