Annoying Autobiographical Pause – Twitter Mumblings

15 06 2008

I’ve been talking a lot about Twitter this past week. A murder trial, the speed of news and the conversation that followed immediately after Tim Russert’s death and even live updates about the 7.2 earthquake in Japan.

On March 29th, I wrote about us sending out some news on Twitter that made the rounds.

I know, beating a dead horse and all, but actually I’m not.

And I’m not the only one writing about it.

What you are left with is a group of people you find useful/interesting/relevant who update you through out the day. In my case it’s sparked new relationships and opportunities as well.

So I’m not really sure why anyone would prefer not to bother themselves with using twitter or a similar service. If you’re a writer (especially the non-fiction variety) check out twitter for a week and see if it hasn’t proven invaluable on at least one occasion.

Read the whole thing. TechGOnzo breaks it down very well.

I talk a lot about being in a rural part of the state and some of the limitations that go with that. I work at a place that doesn’t even subscribe to a newswire.

I’m finding I don’t need one with Twitter who continually keeps beating mainstream media cable networks in breaking the news. Many times it needs verification, don’t get me wrong, but then it creates a dialogue. The conversation flows and you have instant feedback.

If you don’t give two hoots about Twitter, I’ll give you a picture of a kangaroo drinking a beer

Actions

Information

5 responses

15 06 2008
heartbreaktown

LOL – I LOVE Marsupials! I wish my name was Marcy so people could call me Marsupial. Oh well, one of the great disappointments of my life.

I’m not completely sold on the twitter. I can’t really keep up with the conversational aspect of it – it’s like trying to follow a bunch of different IMs. (I don’t have IM either). Clearly if one has good juggling skills, an ability to multi-task, then it appears to be informative. I guess I just use it to say “Hey, I’m just livin’ my little life. Right now I’m doing this. I’m feeling this way. Etc.” It’s certainly a vanity thing, and it’s fun, I guess, so I keep doing it.

15 06 2008
newscoma

I’m glad you are on Twitter. I get all newsy sometimes. 😉
Thus the name Newscoma. 🙂

15 06 2008
heartbreaktown

OH – I thought it was Need Everyone With Soup Cans On Mabel’s Ankles. Boy, did I miss the boat!

15 06 2008
newscoma

That may be up there with the best comment ever.
YAY!

16 06 2008
jim voorhies

for those of us who love twitter, beer and kangaroos, this was a total winner.

Leave a Reply

