524 Jobs Out In Ripley

11 06 2008

From the Chicago Tribune:

More than 500 people will lose their jobs when the Siegel-Robert Automotive South plant in West Tennessee shuts down by year’s end.

The plant, also called Tennessee Electroplating, has been in the Lauderdale County town of Ripley since 1964. It will begin laying off its 524 employees next month.

I was talking to a couple of political campaign guys yesterday. I hope they are paying attention to things like this. Because, campers, this isn’t the first plant to shut down.

Nor will it be the last.

Actions

Information

3 responses

11 06 2008
holly

This makes me sick at my stomach. The LAST thing that town needs is more unemployment–more poverty.

Of course, it’s the last thing any place needs, but I know those people–well, I know their kids, and I know how hard some families are trying. I also know how hard some are not trying, and this will just one more reason for them not to even bother.

11 06 2008
America’s Chief Export: Our Jobs : Post Politics: Political News and Views in Tennessee

[…] jobs when the Siegel-Robert Automotive South plant in West Tennessee shuts down by year’s end. Newscoma: I was talking to a couple of political campaign guys yesterday. I hope they are paying attention […]

11 06 2008
LeftWingCracker

I’d LOVE to hear what Tanner has to say about this…

Leave a Reply

