Paul Newman Donates Company To Charity

10 06 2008

I like it when people do what they say they are going to do.

Movie star Paul Newman has quietly turned over the entire value of his ownership in Newman’s Own — the company that makes salad dressing and cookies — to charity.

Completed over a two-year period in 2005 and 2006, the amount of his donations to Newman’s Own Foundation Inc. comes to an astounding $120 million.

This is unprecedented for any movie star or anyone from what we call Hollywood. Of course Newman and actress wife Joanne Woodward have never been Hollywood types. They’ve lived their lives quietly in Westport, Conn., for the last 50 years. (They were married in January 1958. And people said it wouldn’t last!)

Good job, Mr. Newman. Good job.

Actions

Information

14 responses

10 06 2008
cathymccaughan

But the rumor mill says he is in end-stage lung cancer. Sad.

10 06 2008
newscoma

I know. It’s in the story but I couldn’t help when reading it to see he started the process of donating the profits/co. to charity a couple of years ago.
End-stage is usually pretty quick or it was with my mother.
Cathy, he was/is the shiz, if you ask me.

10 06 2008
cathymccaughan

So is his better half. They have class that new Hollywood just doesn’t have.

10 06 2008
newscoma

I agree. They really are amazing.

10 06 2008
Sharon Cobb

Is the lung cancer story true? I read it in the Enquirer, so…
I put in a call to his publicist and got no response.

Has it been confirmed by a reliable source?

If so, it’s so, so sad.

10 06 2008
Busy Mom

Sounds like he doesn’t have a lot longer. Very sad.

11 06 2008
Lynnster

How nice. I’ve always liked him.

11 06 2008
heartbreaktown

Oh no, I hadn’t heard that!

He was always my ideal.

(psst. and James Garner too, but don’t tell Paul.)

11 06 2008
newscoma

James Garner is awesome too. My childhood memories are all borked this morning with all of this information.

11 06 2008
Rachel

PS-I saw Newman’s Own dog food at the store the other day! 🙂

11 06 2008
Dan Lacey
11 06 2008
Don

Cool Hand Luke still my favorite Newman Movie, what a class act

11 06 2008
BAC

The news about his health is so sad. What a wonderful man/couple they are.

BAC

2 07 2008
Ahmed Mohamed

May God bless him and his better half

Leave a Reply

