Hits And Misses

5 06 2008

I have been asked on occasion why I don’t branch out and move to the city as it suits me. As I have lived in several cities including Nashville, Montreal and Amsterdam and am always on the constant lookout for the perfect sushi roll, I always reply if I found a job where I could pay my expenses and still afford the perfect sushi roll, I’d take it in a minute. How’s that for an impossibly long, rambling sentence?

With that said, it’s stuff like this that scares the bejeebus out of me and makes me take pause.

The 2008 downturn in the local economy and continued weakness in many traditional advertising sectors have led The Commercial Appeal to announce a reduction in work force.

Readership of the print and online versions of the newspaper continues to be outstanding, but slippage in major account, recruitment and automotive advertising over the past 12 months will result in the loss of about 55 jobs at the newspaper, said publisher Joe Pepe

And that, campers, is one thing that anyone in the news biz is going to watch. I’m a bit behind the curve in learning certain aspects of digital media and by trying to educate myself with limited resources, I have to admit it’s not easy. It’s a lot of hit and miss. And I would be lying if I didn’t say that the misses sometimes outweigh the hits.

But I am trying. And I would recommend others do as well.

The world of communication is changing.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

