Unifying A Party

4 06 2008

Last night I missed all the fanfare in a monumental day in history. I was sitting in a local, very emotional board meeting that I’m not going to talk about here. I usually talk around the items that happen in my day job anyway and just write about my reaction to what I do for a living. It’s called a blog where we get to navel gaze about our lives.

So I missed the speeches and probably won’t get to watch them until later today when I have some time.

With that said, I have read the reaction of how folks perceived the last day of the democratic primary. I find that people usually deal with politics from an emotional level. Be it locally or nationally.

I read with great disappointment these posts from Aunt B. Left Wing Cracker and Mack regarding Tennessee Guerilla Women. That blog has won national kudos and has done a great deal for communicating the ongoing battle for women’s rights. I don’t want to take that away from TGW but I must say that as a woman in my 40s there is one thing that I’ve realized as the gray at my hairline becomes a bit whiter and that is not everyone who disagrees with me is out to get me. Sometimes it’s just a different philosophy.

Was there misogyny in this race? Yes.

As a woman, I cringed at moments where Hillary Clinton was asked about her pantsuits and pictures were photoshopped making her into some sort of wicked witch. I hated that.

Was there a covert, and sometimes blatant, thread of racism in this contest? Yes. I felt the nasty sting of Bill Hobbs’ attack on Barack Obama and I have listened to some rather nasty words thrown at the candidate.

And although I don’t always write about feminism here doesn’t mean that I don’t live a life of being a professional woman in a male-dominated world.Β  During my career in news and social work, I’ve had some rather nasty words thrown at me as well as other women have as well.

I try to let my actions speak louder than my words. People that know me know that I’m more than this blog.

So speeches were given last night and in internalizing the immediate needs of my particular community, I find my concerns about this country are more than just race and sexism which can’t be fixed in a day but should be fixed nonetheless. I don’t want my nieces listening to the nastiness that I have on occasion. With that said, there has to be a unified effort to make sure they are okay. And taking our toys and going home because our candidate of choice didn’t win doesn’t cut it for me. I just want something different from the last eight years.Β  This country has had a rough run. And I don’t want those same nieces to ever go through something like this ever again.

My concerns, for right now at least, are about the economy and the war (where women and people of color die too), about a recession in my community that has no access to rural public transportation and where gas prices have created such hardships where I’ve seen people reduced to tears choosing between milk and getting to work. Jackson Miller posted this yesterday and that’s what I’m talking about.

Politics are emotional and I don’t care what anyone says, it is. But there has to be unity in fixing some of the things in this country that are impacting regular people. It’s the only way.

Actions

Information

6 responses

4 06 2008
I don’t usually get political. « Slatterns and Hooch

[…] subject, check out our beloved Aunt B., the gifted Don Coyote, and the queen of all she surveys, our ‘Coma. The post they refer to at TGW is the one that shocked me into yattering here in the first […]

4 06 2008
cathymccaughan

About a year ago, my feed reader had a great “purge.” Three consecutive posts of extreme hate resulted in deletion from my daily reads. TGW was one of the very first casualties. It’s sad that they became so vile. We should be sisters in spirit who want to work together to allow all women the choice to be and do whatever they want. I wanted to like them. I wanted to read their persuasive arguments about issues. I can’t and won’t deliberately allow that much anger into my life. They have become those who they criticize. I hope they find their way back to tolerance and love.

4 06 2008
squirrelqueen

Unity and cooperation always garner more success than anger and isolation.
Both HRC and Obama were qualified candidates. Obama will represent the party well and should be supported by all who want change. To ignore Obama’s viable stances on the issues and turn to another party is ludicrous.

4 06 2008
captainkona

I can only speak for myself.

I did not turn nasty when this primary started. I’ve been politically nasty on the net since ’96. πŸ˜›
Even preceded Rude Pundit. πŸ™‚ (though he is the king)

Half of me loves life and the other half hates it. That’s why the sweet & sour running commentary I suppose.
Either way, I still luv egalia. Some of those skanks that post there are sub-humanoid, but others are just passionate about their femdom and that’s cool. Because I kinda likes me some female aquaintence too. πŸ˜‰

And you know I luvs you too, Coma.

Politics is an ugly thing most of the time. Difference is, I like it that way.
I can take all kinds of abuse and do. Today I even got a love letter from some dweeb called Hoot Gibson. Let’s me know I’m doing the right thing when Righty gets a notion to insult me.
I live for it. πŸ™‚

Ultimately, healing takes two. I’m voting for the Democratic nominee and I’m still really upset that we passed up John Edwards.
What others do is entirely up to them. Each individual Clinton supporter, the vast majority of which are intelligent and know what their own best interests are, has to decide if their own best interests and those of their loved ones are more important than spite.

But again, these “I’ll vote for McCain” types are a tiny fringe group. Barely significant if that. They do not represent the majority, or anything even close, of Hillary’s genuine supporters.

Democrats will be Democrats in November and hopefully so will a few Greens.
πŸ˜‰

4 06 2008
newscoma

I think you are absolutely correct. Spite is a rough thing.
I don’t even like Sprite. Just saying.

4 06 2008
captainkona

Spite only harms the spiteful.

Sprite is great for reducing nausea.
Better keep a case or two on hand for the GOP talking points.

Leave a Reply

