Politics: The Human Element

24 05 2008

I am an average woman in my early 40s stumbling through life as best I can. I’m human. I’m flawed. And I get tired. Sometimes I say stupid things. Other times I’m reasonable. There are times my confidence is lost. There are other times I’m boisterous and on top of the world. There are times I am excessive. There are other times that I’m kind.

I’m many things. I say again, I’m human.

I have said repeatedly that the idea of a Bush, Clinton, Clinton, Bush, Bush and then Clinton presidency was something I just didn’t really want.  In this republic we live in, if Clinton were to have won the White House, I couldn’t help but think of three decades of two families being so immersed in the leadership of this country. We are not a monarchy.  I liked Bill Clinton and I don’t have a problem with Hillary but I don’t think she would have gotten the national attention she has if it weren’t for his popularity as president. There is no doubt she is a smart politician. But I’ve said before she is a divisive force amongst voters. I’ve said that since the inception of this blog. Could she run this country?

Sure she could.

Speaking of being tired, this election with relentless, and at times bitter, campaigning has lasted forever. I don’t remember a time in my adult life seeing anything like this and I’m somewhat of a political junkie.

If the American public is suffering from campaign fatigue, I can’t imagine what the candidates are going through, all three of them.

They are not deities. They are human as well.

The remarks made yesterday by Hillary Clinton were stupid. There isn’t any getting around it. But I also understand being exhausted. I can give her the benefit of the doubt about the whole thing because I get tired too. I’ve wanted something so bad and not been able to get it before. I can relate to those things.

Clinton can stay in the race until doomsday if she chooses because that’s her right. Her remarks were not thought out but I think she was speaking of a time frame regarding June in her reference to the assassination of Robert Kennedy.

The one thing that I don’t think Clinton remembered in that moment that in this new age of politics is every word is dissected by the media and the blogosphere. She has thrown some verbal grenades in the past specifically trying to put out questions about Barack Obama. She has done this. And because we’ve seen this with all three candidates using words as weapons of mass distraction, there obviously is going to be scrutiny of rather or not she was trying to create an earworm, if you will, again.

But this time, I don’t think this was the case. And, in politics, you win. There is no second place. It’s just politics. I don’t think she threw one of those loaded statement in this particular instance with her comments but she did made a nation shudder, to quote Holly from a Twitter post.

They are all tired. WE are all tired. I get that.

I realize this probably isn’t popular to say because we aren’t supposed to treat politicians as human beings but they are.

Whether they know it or not.

Actions

Information

17 responses

24 05 2008
Jamie Holts

Well said Great information, keep up the great work!

24 05 2008
heartbreaktown

I agree with so much of what you just posted.

I have seen Sen. Clinton make some doozies in recent months – each mistake fried to a crisp with the hottest french fry lamp the pundits could find. And many, many of her comments that weren’t mistakes have been twisted and motives applied that may not have ever been there. If you throw enough crap on someone, some of it’s going to stick. That has been very sad for me to see. I’m hoping there’s a plus side in the nation’s short attention span. She was always controversial, but the citizens of NY have been very happy with the job she’s done. She has proven herself to be a great politician (and I mean that in a really good way) and I hope her reputation will not be unfairly tarnished for any length of time.

I’m sure Sen. Obama will be the nominee. I hope he is elected President and I hope he does a great job. One thing is certain though, either Democrat would be better than McCain and ANY of the three of them will be better than Bush.

We’re almost there.

24 05 2008
newscoma

What a great comment, HBT.
I have always said I would cheerfully vote for Clinton if she is the nominee. I think she’s done some doozies but I don’t think this was one of them.
And you are right. News right now has no lifespan whatsoever.

We will see. I dig Obama. And I’m ready for Bush to go.

24 05 2008
Jamie Holts

Hello.

I would like to put a link to your site on my blog roll if you want to do the same for mine. It would be a good way to build up both of our readerships.

thank you.

24 05 2008
Sharon Cobb

What about the other 3 times she said it since March? She wasn’t tired then.
Me thinks you don’t read my site anymore, which makes me very sad. 😦 😦

Please check out the Keith Olbermann video I posted and see if you feel the same way after watching it.

Thanks!
and hugs{{{{}}}}

24 05 2008
newscoma

Oh Sharon, I don’t disagree with you on this. You know where I stand which is the same way you stand, but I do think yesterday was a misstep. I just read the Huffington Post stuff this morning after having been off-line since about 3 yesterday and just a quick look at Twitter last night. We went and saw a friend of ours we haven’t seen in about three months who has cancer. The whole thing, I guess, made me think of mortality and life …
And being tired. I’m processing in my own comment section so bear with me. 🙂
How fragile we all are. I think I combined two worlds.

You know the thing, and you probably know this too being in news as long as we have, is that the news cycle on this thing lasted about 12 hours.

24 05 2008
sadcox

I don’t give HC a break on…anything. But this statement is being blown completely out of proportion I think.

24 05 2008
Sean Braisted

Right about now I like Hillary Clinton about as much as I like a steamed Brusselsprout-asparagus-broccoli salad. But all the same, I agree that politicians (even Clinton) are fallible, and I think she just said something intended to be benign (even if historically inapplicable) and it just came out the wrong way.

24 05 2008
holly

I’m doing a lot of processing myself this election. I’ve been determined to see the candidates with new eyes and to put my money where my mouth is as far as my “vote the candidate, not the party” stance goes. I’ve been really trying to pay attention to what each person running is actually saying.

Which is why Sen. Clinton is really concerning me. I respect her. I even kinda-sorta-almost like her. And yes, I know she’s human and fallible and all that. I just worry that her mouth gets so far ahead of her sometimes, that if she became President, the burden would fall then upon us as a nation to have to try to keep up.

(Well, it made sense in my head, anyway.)

24 05 2008
Sharon Cobb

NC-
If you watched the Olbermann video which I posted, as did many others, you’d see it wasn’t an error on her part from being tired, but deliberate. He shows the 3 other times she said this going back to March, and says “shame on the media for not reporting this sooner.”

I agree with him.

I agree with you that both candidates are exhausted and will sometimes say something stupid, but her remarks about this were calculated and repeated.

And yes, I”m very fragile. 😡

24 05 2008
Sharon Cobb

Nonono….I was trying to make a face with a KISS. that’s not the emotion I meant to make. Let me try again.
:X

24 05 2008
Sharon Cobb

ARGH. Not it. Here’s an old standard.
xoxoxoxoxxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxxoxoo

24 05 2008
Joe P.

preach it, ‘Coma. The last thing I want is more of the same in the White House, and this recent Bush dynasty is an awful thing. The sad truth however is that no matter who takes the job over next, I doubt we will get away from an Monarchy any time soon. it will take years to undo the damage done — if it is undone at all.

And yes, too many people want SuperDad (or SuperMom) to run the nation (or the state or the local offices, too). It’s easier to let someone else steer our nation, easier to then blame them when it’s all shot to hell. Our national media outlets might as well be reporting on some random 5th grade popularity contest, such witless buffoons they are.

We is in deeeep trouble, and not only is there no light at the end, the tunnel is collapsing around us.

24 05 2008
Barry

I have read her comments about Robert Kennedy over and over and over and three ways from Sunday, and except for maybe some poor timing due to Sen. Edward Kennedy’s diagnosis, I can’t find a single thing inappropriate about it.

She’s comparing her husband and RFK both being in the race by June and not out of it – unfortunately RFK’s bid was cut short by his murder, but it doesn’t negate the fact a contested race in June is still up for grabs…

Are people thinking she’s hoping Obama will be assassinated? Surely people aren’t that shallow… I truly don’t understand, and don’t see the problem…

24 05 2008
newscoma

Thanks guys. Been doing the non-virtual thing today.
Ahh. Sharon it is of the good. Watched KO. Know what you are saying.
Joe and Holly, this is so of the weird.
Barry, I got that too.

Now, going to drown myself in the bathtub. Just been out to SQ’s mom’s farm.
I’m not used to all of that, but finding that it is really cool.

25 05 2008
lovable liberal

Not a Hillary supporter, but I’m not blaming her for this either.

26 05 2008
Ignorance Or Ignorance? : Post Politics: Political News and Views in Tennessee

[…] ALSO: Newscoma Sharon Cobb Brendan Loy LA Times Marc Ambinder Times Online Wall Street Journal […]

Leave a Reply

