Ellen DeGeneres Interviews John McCain

22 05 2008

After California’s Supreme Court lifted the state ban on same-sex marriage, Ellen DeGeneres announced that she and long-term partner Portia de Rossi would tie the knot as did George Takei.

Ellen will be interviewing John McCain this morning on her talk show which was taped yesterday. Here is a snippet of what they talked about:

ELLEN: Mm-hmm. Yeah. I think that it is looked at and some people are saying the same that blacks and women did not have the right to vote. Women just got the right to vote in 1920. Blacks didn’t have the right to vote till 1870. It just feels like there’s this old way of thinking (that) we are not all the same. We are all the same people. All of us. You’re no different than I am. Our love is the same. (applause) To me what it feels like just, you know, I will speak for myself…it feels when someone says you can have a contract and you’ll still have insurance and you’ll get all that. It sounds to me like saying well you can sit there (points in one direction), you just can’t sit there (points in another direction). That’s what it sounds like to me. It doesn’t feel inclusive. It feels isolated. It feels like we aren’t owed the same things and the same wording.

MCCAIN: Well, I’ve heard you articulate that position in a very eloquent fashion. We just have a disagreement and I, along with many, many others wish you every happiness.

ELLEN: Thank you. So you’ll walk me down the aisle? Is that what you said?

There is also a video if you are so inclined at the link.

Actions

Information

9 responses

22 05 2008
Chris

How beautifully did she handle that? Pretty damn beautifully, I say.

22 05 2008
McCain’t Say He Approves Of It : Post Politics: Political News and Views in Tennessee

[…] John McCain and Ellen DeGeneres talk gay marriage. […]

22 05 2008
newscoma

I thought so as well, Chris.

22 05 2008
badger

She’s so cheeky. And she’s right

22 05 2008
pshaw

She was respectful and at the same time she left McCain with no wiggle room to talk. That was perfect.

22 05 2008
newscoma

I thought so too. I really dig Ellen.

22 05 2008
diesel

John McCain hates happiness.

22 05 2008
newscoma

But a puppy doesn’t die of fear like when Dick Cheney is in town.
Wait, it’s just as bad.

5 06 2008
Gatorgirl

I like Ellen’s show, but I thought her challenging John McCain was inappropriate. Most Americans are against gay marriage–only two states have passed gay marriage. Ellen made her lifestyle a political issue and made her guest uncomfortable for her own selfish gain.

Leave a Reply

