Annoying Autobiographical Pause #1,333

21 05 2008

We always hear about how there is the battle between old ways of covering news and new digital media. Of course, these days sometimes I feel my job is more about being a battering goat for complaints as yesterday that seemed to be the ONLY thing in my job description.  I was also taking care of an awning problem in front of our building that was victim to the winds and age this spring.

That’s not news. That’s housekeeping.

I miss balls to the wall writing news and it’s hard to do that sitting behind a desk at times. I used to love getting out and organically finding news stories. I used to have four deadlines in one day when I was in radio news. I like the feel of busting a news story from the trickle and whisper of it’s conception to when it breaks knowing that I was getting that piece of news to the people.

And, I’m dealing with awning, complaints and personnel issues these days.

I bring this up that sometimes when you get to that point in your career when you realize you are in transition.

I am, however, excited about new concepts in delivering news. I mentioned last week I’ve been following a murder trial on twitter.

I also noticed yesterday that Katie Allison Granju covered minute-by-minute the shooting of a police officer at WBIR on it’s news site.

I realize news is changing.

Fortunately, tomorrow I am covering a hearing of a deputy who killed his estranged wife’s lover. He was convicted a couple of years ago but the case is headed back to court. As I love covering court better than just about anything, it will be a welcome change. If only they had WiFi in the courthouse here then I could report it live.

I need to work on making things like that happen.

Actions

Information

5 responses

21 05 2008
vibinc

I don’t know if they allow these thingies in court, but just about every cell company has something like this. I use one for when I travel. Kind of expensive for what it is, but if hyperconnectivity is what you’re after…it’s a solution.

21 05 2008
newscoma

Thanks. I think I’m going to do that. I know the Powers That Be won’t swing for it but I think for me, it’s perfect. Thanks dude.

21 05 2008
heartbreaktown

I’m learning so much about my new bloggy-buddies. I love it.

21 05 2008
SBates

let’s tag team Houston on the WiFi situation. it’s very disheartening sometimes in Hooterville. i’m with you all the way.

21 05 2008
newscoma

It’s a go, girlfriend. I will start tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

