Cohen, Clinton, Obama And Election Fatigue Syndrome

12 05 2008

Congressman Steve Cohen has a reputation of saying what is ever on his mind and usually his words are laced with pop culture analogies, Memphis anecdotes as well as that he is Tennessee’s only liberal rep in Congress.

And he has mightily pissed off the Tennessee Guerilla Woman as well as others for this comment on Hillary Clinton.

This week, Obama-backing Rep. Steve Cohen, D-Tenn., said on local television, when asked about Sen. Clinton, that “Glenn Close should have just stayed in the tub.”

[He was] referring to Close playing the insane, deluded Alex Forrest — the wronged “other woman” who refuses to accept her fate and just go away, and becomes suicidal and homicidal. . as the late great Pauline Kael wrote in The New Yorker at the time, the “film is about men seeing feminists as witches.”

Cohen issued an apology on the thread at TGW. Here’s a snippet:


I sincerely apologize for the comments I made about Senator Clinton’s campaign. I have great respect for Senator Clinton as a US Senator. She has waged an historic campaign which has done much to break the glass ceiling.

Braisted weighs in:

While I certainly think Obama is going to be the nominee, as he has been able to win a key demographic during this primary….voters; I don’t think it helps to go around comparing Clinton to psycho women in movies.

I agree with Braisted. I also think everyone, Clinton, Obama, **insert name here** has said some dumb things at different times. (Hillary and the Bosnia sniper fire thing was huge to many people I’ve spoken to who are not political pundits. She’s been talking unity. I’m glad for that one.)

One thing: during these last days before the Democratic Party has a nominee, Hillary supporters aren’t going to be happy if she doesn’t get the nomination and Obama supporters aren’t going to be happy if he doesn’t get the nomination.

Clinton is a formidable politician as is Obama. Clinton and Obama’s campaigns has collectively left many non-political people with a huge case of Election Fatigue Syndrome. Cohen shouldn’t have said what he did but on the other hand, he’s always said things and has had to take his foot out of his mouth on occasion.I’m not condoning his Glenn Close comment with that said.

And he did apologize.

I like Cohen. I didn’t like what he said but I also know that nine times out of ten, I like how he votes in Washington.

I’m just saying.

Actions

Information

8 responses

12 05 2008
steve

Thanks.No injuriousness intended.Let’s just get it over .Even Bob Hope missed a few.Steve

12 05 2008
steve

let’s just get it over(the nomination process)

12 05 2008
Ron

She’s much more like Kathy Bates in Misery to me.

12 05 2008
newscoma

Steve, I like your votes though. 🙂
‘coma

12 05 2008
lcreekmo

I think there’s just a growing frustration with what Clinton’s continued status as an official candidate, albeit one with no hope of actually winning, is doing to Obama at this point. It’s not helpful for Clinton to win Kentucky, when she truly has no hope of winning the nomination. It will just give the media another opportunity to say that Obama can’t get white, rural voters. That’s just helping John McCain.

So I get the frustration out there. I think a lot of people who really admire Clinton personally are terribly frustrated with her political choices at the moment.

12 05 2008
newscoma

lcreekmore, I could not agree more. I’m a bit frustrated myself.
I really want to see unity in the party.
I get it too.

12 05 2008
Jeffraham Prestonian

I’ve been nonchalant about the intraparty hand-wringing, ’cause I don’t think it’s that big a deal, and it’s probably a healthy exercise for the party, to be honest. We had a great field of candidates for POTUS this year… and still do.

That said, the less shots our candidates take at one another at this point, the better.
.

13 05 2008
Pardon Me

Is Cohen a comic? He’s comparing himself to Bob Hope? Yeah we really need more bad comics with a sexist bent in Congress.

Leave a Reply

