Obligatory Post On Pennsylvania Primary

22 04 2008

If you don’t want to know anything about the Pennsylvania Primary, I suggest that you look at this picture of a man who had an alligator in his car when he was arrested.

George Bush is on Deal or No Deal. Barack Obama, Hillary Clinton and John McCain got their wrestling on.

Ahh, the joys of American Politics and how it seeps into pop culture.

I don’t know who is going to win today. I assume Clinton will but not by the landslide predicted a couple of months ago.

And the story that sits on the backburner as candidates run like hyenas toward a wounded gazelle is that it’s okay for felons to join the military but not gay people.

Felons.

Under pressure to meet combat needs, the Army and Marine Corps brought in significantly more recruits with felony convictions last year than in 2006, including some with manslaughter and sex crime convictions.

Data released by a congressional committee shows the number of soldiers admitted to the Army with felony records jumped from 249 in 2006 to 511 in 2007. And the number of Marines with felonies rose from 208 to 350.

Notice the words “sex crime convictions?”

I am constantly perplexed by our government.

Actions

Information

7 responses

22 04 2008
cravensworld

And we wonder when our soldiers commit war crimes? dumb

22 04 2008
newscoma

I think most soldiers have done really well considering the circumstances, what concerns me is that our military is resorting to recruiting felons and it’s still “don’t ask, don’t tell.”
Why is that it’s okay for a convicted felon of a violent crime to go to war. if somebody gets busted on a non-violent crime, that’s one thing. Convicted of rape though?
I know that war is violent, but it seems to me to address a larger issue.
That’s what is troubling to me.

22 04 2008
Jon

And I went up there, I said, “Shrink, I want to kill. I mean, I wanna, I
wanna kill. Kill. I wanna, I wanna see, I wanna see blood and gore and
guts and veins in my teeth. Eat dead burnt bodies. I mean kill, Kill,
KILL, KILL.” And I started jumpin up and down yelling, “KILL, KILL,” and
he started jumpin up and down with me and we was both jumping up and down
yelling, “KILL, KILL.” And the sargent came over, pinned a medal on me,
sent me down the hall, said, “You’re our boy.”

22 04 2008
newscoma

Have you ever seen Harold and Maude?
The seen with Bud Cort and his uncle?
I guess that wouldn’t be so outrageous with the gov’t that’s in charge now.

22 04 2008
captainkona

Well,

She’ll most likely win in PA due to the undecided/uninformed vote, but she won’t win by enough to continue to justify staying in the race, again, with Obama looking like he’s taken Indiana away from her and has North Carolina locked up already.
(NC is one reason why John Edwards hasn’t endorsed anyone. He may wait and endorse whoever has mo going in to NC, or whoever wins there.)

This is all fun to follow, but the pledged delegates are still the only substantial issue. And she simply cannot overcome Obama’s lead by taking fewer states at smaller margins.

I’m still of the belief that she lost the primary when she lost Wisconsin, but “Bosnia Betty” really sunk her ship. She tried to play it off like Bush tried to play off the WMD and that offended more people than she’s ever going to admit to.

22 04 2008
Clintonista

She’s the most effective individual to deal with foreign affairs, which will be the most important issue of this race in the end. How can we fix our economy without better foreign relations? Clearly, we cannot. Globalization insists upon improved relations and returning the US to it’s pre-Bush standing.

This will be the fourth attempt for Obama to knock Clinton out of the race. He’s been incapable of doing so, which demonstrates his lack of feasibility as a candidate.

There are good reasons why the superdelegates should ignore the Obama Campaigns cries for all Superdelegates to swing for Obama and instead endorse Mrs Clinton. There’s no question that superdelegates will consider electability as a factor in deciding whether to vote for Hillary Clinton or Barack Obama. Clinton CAN beat McCain in November. Obama cannot if he is on the ticket as President. Him as VP is a different story: http://clintonista.wordpress.com/

22 04 2008
captainkona

Clintonista:

I’d agree with you, but then we’d both be wrong.

No Clinton is fit to be President any more than a Bush is. They simple do not posses the required moral fiber.

Leave a Reply

