Reelfoot Lake

18 04 2008

When I was a kid, and I’m talking about five-years-old, I used to confuse earthquakes and volcanos. I was terrified of volcanos for some reason, but I would get the words messed up and ask my mother if west Tennessee could have earthquakes.

Of course, she responded “Yes” and I would freak out thinking she was talking about volcanos. I know, I must have some sort of dyslexia about natural disasters.

Anyway, she noticed that I was wigging out and was constantly asking about earthquakes that I thought were volcanos.

Confusing, I know.

So she took me to Reelfoot Lake. We would go eat catfish (it’s famous for that) and there would be these paper placemats at the restaurant that told the history of how the lake was created. I distinctly remember there was a cartoon of an Indian on the placemat and as I got older, I realized that it was a bunch of hoo-haw regarding the real history of the creation of the lake, but still, it cleared some things up.

I finally understood the difference between earthquakes and volcanos. But then I would look across the lake and this overwhelming sense of “OH CRAP” filled me.

For nearly 200 years, west Tennesseans have been saying “It could happen again” but it never has.

Of course, this morning’s earthquake was a reminder, that indeed, it could.

The history of Reelfoot Lake is here. There are few written accounts about how it all happened but it was devastating.

And, yeah, I now know the difference between an earthquake and a volcano. Shut up.

Actions

Information

4 responses

18 04 2008
Rachel

Well, ‘coma, you weren’t entirely off-base, because where there are volcanoes, earthquake activity will sometimes precede an eruption. Just off about the west TN specifics. 🙂

18 04 2008
newscoma

I was a worried, bothersome child who didn’t know crazy things like information. 😉

18 04 2008
Music City Bloggers » Blog Archive » Earthquake!

[…] Tennessean article; Corey Webb; This Is LaVergne; Newscoma; Malia (didn’t feel it) Share and Enjoy: These icons link to social bookmarking sites where […]

18 04 2008
Ron

I just choked on my soda, Coma.

Leave a Reply

