Annoying Autobiographical Pause #350

12 04 2008

I haven’t been blogging much this week as I’ve been as stressed as an individual could be. There is so much I want to catch up on and I’ll get to that, but first of all I want to discuss the power of stress.

First of all is saying it out loud, “I Worry Too Much.” My name is Newscoma and I am stressed. Admitting it is the hardest part I hear.

There, I said it.

The last few years have seen my stress levels go through the roof. I’ve been working on about a few different things simultaneously to make sure my future is not spent in a barn drinking jungle cat crap coffee, which apparently you need a lot of money to do.

Stress is a weird thing. I think you have to look at the causes of stress and dissect what you have control over, and what you don’t.

Let’s break it down:

  1. I think the nature of the economy and it’s impact on all of us individually can create stress. Jobs are lost, work performance is being watched more heavily and with downsizing, there is the stress of whether or not having a job, will totally mess with your good life.
  2. Back in the fall, I was sent to get a “stress” test that my health insurance denied. The 10 minutes I spent with the cardiologist cost me $900 dollars, which health insurance also didn’t take care of. Needless to say, this has gone untreated. I could have gone to any blogger I know or the guy at the convenience store I see every other day. They could all tell you that I was, indeed, stressed. I’ve decided to use Pagan means in the future where people can just give me a glass of catnip tea and tell me to listen to some Beethoven to destressify. This would, in this day and age of modern medicine, be just as effective as being stressed over medical bills. I am considering cancelling my health insurance and just getting a major medical/cancer policy and leaving it at that.
  3. Thinking of making major changes due to outside influences is probably the route I’m headed. It’s the only thing I can think of to do.
  4. I have developed an invisible twitch in my eye. Homer and Squirrel Queen says you can’t see it but it’s happening non-stop. I said I had stink-eye in the past. Apparently it’s true.
  5. Self-medicating one’s stress is not a healthy thing to do.
  6. Actually, blogging doesn’t stress me out. I like blogging. Panicky news people stress me out, but blogging doesn’t. I find it invigorating.
  7. Over at Lifehacker, I read this sentence. “Know when to quit: Don’t stand for employers, friends, or lovers who treat you badly. Decide how much of yourself you’re willing to put into a relationship, job, or activity; when you cross that line, walk away and don’t look back.” I’m putting a lot of thought into that right now.
  8. I’ve taken on two additional jobs recently. I’m wondering if freelance work is the way to go. I’ve freelanced in the past. I liked it. It didn’t stress me out too much. I’ve always worked on deadlines. I actually am okay with them.
  9. I get this.
  10. Make sure that “people” who deliberately try to stress me out and are “drama queens” are now excised from my life. Not needed, not wanted and take it somewhere else. Mabel has never bitten anyone but I can train her to do it.

So, bear with me, kind readers. I’m making some changes. Hopefully it will be a blessing. I’m not going to kill myself by being so stressed. And I’m looking at ways to deal with it.

If you have any suggestions on how to destressify, leave them in the comments or shoot me an email at newscoma at gmail dot com.

Actions

Information

4 responses

12 04 2008
Russ

‘Coma, I hate that you’re going through this. The only advice I can offer is to meditate on #7 above very, very thoroughly. It’s worked for me; in fact, I’m convinced that had I not walked away from a bad (and stressful) work situation many years ago, I probably would have ended up with a coronary.

Walking away from something bad can be instantaneously liberating. You’ll be able to breathe again. You might fear inside that if you do walk away, the sky will fall. Trust me — it won’t. Birds will sing, the sun will shine, and you’ll feel that weight on your shoulders lifted immediately.

Life is too short to waste even a moment of it.

12 04 2008
scoutabout

Good for you for deciding to take action. Let me know if I can do anything to help.

12 04 2008
holly

Get yourself sacked. I haven’t felt this good in months. Seriously.

Second to that, I just say spend more time with friends. *ahem*

12 04 2008
Jeffraham (in E TN)

Need a hug? Free hugs, heah!

Take good care of yourself — you’re my 2009 mealticket! 😆
.

Leave a Reply

