Blogging In Tennessee

9 04 2008

A couple of things this morning.

First of all, as one of my favorite bloggers/news guys, I just wanted to say that Michael Silence’s new role at Knox News is inspired. I think this is a great move and he’s on my “must” list daily. If you break it down further, it’s interesting to watch progressive news organizations embracing the online community.

Katie Allison Granju wrote recently about the changes in newsrooms which is a must read as well. I’ve written before about personality driven blogging. I think it’s important.

I think we are seeing that happen although it could be said that Nashville is Talking began it with Brittney and a plethora of guest bloggers (I was one and it was an amazing honor) which began some of the trends here in Tennessee.

But it is evolving. We are seeing a lot of blogging activity out of the Knoxville area. We are also witnessing a shift in the way things are happening online. Joe Lance and Alice are keeping it interesting in Chattanooga with some insightful and targeted blogging which are also must reads. In Memphis, we see a community of folks blogging who have created an amazing network of not only information but who are also friends. Everyone needs to swing by Drinking Liberally on Thursday nights at Dish on the corner of Cooper and Young. It’s always some of the most insightful conversation on a weekly basis. The Drinking Liberally don’t update their site too often, but are very active on Facebook.

Also, I’m eagerly waiting for Kleinheider’s daily return at The Nashville Post. I hope it’s not behind a subscription wall. We bloggers vote but we be poor. So far, so good.

It’s an interesting time here in Tennessee when it comes to your daily dose of politics. If politics isn’t your thing, then here is a picture that I think Lindsey and Killa will appreciate. There is a lot more going on than I listed here. I guess I’m thinking of location today outside of the state’s capital.

Actions

Information

4 responses

9 04 2008
Tennessee’s blogosphere keeps evolving : KnoxvilleTalks.com

[…] Newscoma ruminates: …it could be said that Nashville is Talking began it with Brittney and a plethora of guest bloggers (I was one and it was an amazing honor) which began some of the trends here in Tennessee. […]

9 04 2008
jim voorhies

I was reading some of the posts on Xark this morning and noticed one that relates to this (but it was farther down the page than the zombie stuff…).

“When I interviewed people at Orycon, they made me get a press pass to do it. I fought because I really didn’t want one.
I didn’t want to identify as press. I’d rather tell people I’m a piano player in a whorehouse so they don’t lose as much respect for me.”

Sad, but probably more true than not. People used to believe in newspeople.

9 04 2008
newscoma

I know.;(

10 04 2008
killawatt

Oooft. Someone got in trouble with their editor.

Reason #134 that I’m a geek and have designed pages for 2-3 years. I’m almost 90 percent sure that the font for the headline is “Franklin Gothic Demi Condensed”. It looks very close to it.

Leave a Reply

