Opening Day

25 03 2008

Baseball is like an ethereal ray of hope that comes each year for me. I love the baseball diamond and that exquisite sound when the bat cracks the ball and you just know it’s a home run.

You just know it deep in your soul, just as you know the sound of a fly ball, the pop of a foul and the sound of the crowd’s cheers, or sighs.

You see, you just know,  because it’s baseball and it settles in your soul. To describe the joy and the sounds and the smell of popcorn and hot dogs and even warm beer is not something you can explain.

It just is.

And you watch the game and then it’s over. Sometimes it is a surprise to me when a game ends. Abruptly, the moment is gone but it feels warm and glows. It’s like love without the hassle unless your team makes it to the end of October. Baseball is like Highlander. There can only be one.

It’s the way of baseball, leisurely yet always moving.

It is in baseball that we discover the true pace that life should be. Measured and controlled with the knowledge that triumph can be had even during the last-at-bat.

In baseball, there isn’t any giving up. Then you shake the hand of your competitor and head to the locker room for a shower and a beer.

It’s not the players. Today I don’t want to hear about McGwire, Sosa and Clemens. I don’t care about Steinbrenner. I want to worship at the church. It’s the game itself.

smitphu008001ozzie-smith-1985-world-series-flip-posters.jpg

I must get to St. Louis this year.

Monday cannot get here soon enough.

Actions

Information

6 responses

25 03 2008
chez beziat

Don’t you go making me like baseball again. 😉

25 03 2008
newscoma

I have decided to fall in love again with it. I went a few years watching it with one eye.
Alas, I need to feel the passion again.

25 03 2008
ceeelcee

Ahhh, April. Oh crap, it’s still March. What the hell is up with THAT?!

At least the Cardinals haven’t been mathematically eliminated yet. 8^)

It’s on like Donkey Kong this year, gurlfriend!

25 03 2008
25 03 2008
hutchmo

Bravo, my friend. A glass of Bass should be held high in honor of this day. Well done..

25 03 2008
scoutabout

Yes, I must get over to Busch myself this year. Haven’t been to the new stadium yet.
Cool pic of the Wizard of Oz.
Yay, baseball!!!

Leave a Reply

