Gore Galore In Nashville

22 03 2008

There are a few things I get all worked up about.

One is I love Horror movies. Last night, Squirrel Queen and I spent some time explaining our adoration of horror movies to Karsten and Chris Wage. I know they must think we are nuts but there is something really fun about heading out from Hooterville to specifically go to a horror festival. It’s camp at it’s best.
I love subcultures. I do. Explaining it isn’t an easy thing, my friends.

We are going this afternoon. I’m sure we will laugh.

Jim Ridley at the Nashville Scene breaks it down why this should be a hoot:

FULL MOON TATTOO & HORROR FESTIVAL If you’re one of those sickos who gets off on gory trash, monster movies and lurid stalk ’n’ slash sagas full of half-naked scream queens, you must be…me. Which means we’re bound to have fun at this three-day expo of celebrity signings, screenings and such devoted to the dark arts. Of special note is a Nashville appearance by filmmaker George A. Romero (see below), but the lineup should tickle anyone with a lifetime Fangoria subscription: stars Adrienne Barbeau (The Fog), Dee Wallace (The Howling), Tony Todd (Candyman) and Michael Berryman (The Hills Have Eyes); gore FX master Tom Savini; The Goon comic creator Eric Powell; painter Basil Gogos; organizer/horror filmmaker/tattoo artist Ben Dixon; and many more listed at lonewolfbodyart.net/festival8.html. A one-day pass is $15; $35 covers all three days. Friday through Sunday at the Nashville Airport Marriott (600 Marriott Drive) —JIM RIDLEY

I had a Fangoria subscription as a kid. Shut up.

I tried to get tickets to see George Romero last night at the Belcourt where he screened Diary of the Dead. I struck out. It probably would have been easier to get a dinner date with the Pope on Easter Sunday then get in last night.

Listen, some people go to art galleries. (I go and I enjoy them immensely.) Other folks like bluegrass festivals (you’ve never been to a party until you hit one of those.)

Me, I do crap like this. This should be smashing.

Actions

Information

7 responses

22 03 2008
Jeffraham Prestonian

I had a subscription to Starlog. Never went to a con, though. Always felt embarrassed for those folx.
.

22 03 2008
newscoma

I’m going because there should be pictures galore!

22 03 2008
22 03 2008
chez beziat

Scene: Official Horror Convention Hotel

Me: Can I help you with your luggage?

George Romero: No thanks.

Me (to myself): Holy crap! I just conversed with George Romero.

22 03 2008
newscoma

Dang. I wanted a beer with you but went and died after four hours of horror and tattooing (and beer.)
There is like so much damn beer in your future.
So very glad to see you. You are wonderful but more, Michael.
It was just awesome.

23 03 2008
chez beziat

true dat

23 03 2008
Zombies and Meeting Maude’s Daughter! « GingerSnaps

[…] a thunk that this weekend, I’d get to hang out at a Tattoo & Horror Festival with Newscoma, Squirrel Queen, and Hollywood Ron!  I hadn’t planned on it, but after enjoying lunch with […]

Leave a Reply

