Annoying Autobiographical Pause # 989

18 03 2008

Been a very long week, campers. Bear with me, I’m busier than a mongoose chasing cobras.

With that said, a few things I wish to throw at you tonight.

I’ve taken a few days away from politics. No, I’m doing some ground work because that’s what one does if that’s our thing (as it is mine.) I enjoyed Barack Obama’s speech but I’m so tired of pundits dictating the wave of the party with Obama and Clinton. Very tired of it. We need unity, no matter who gets the ticket. We need to believe that we are part of something instead of an endless news cycle filling time on our televisions.  We have to unify.

If I sound discouraged, I am.

We are living in world that I feel is quite volatile now. A world where we do need to be unified no matter what our beliefs might be. We are in two wars, we are looking at a jacked-up economy and yet we talk about things like Amy Winehouse’s skin problem and Britney Spears being on a television show?

I look at national debt that my nieces will be paying on long into their adulthood. I look at the lack of respect that we show one another. I see belief systems of people’s personal lives being thrown around as if it’s meaningless.

People mock others for wanting hope?

People mock others for losing their jobs?

With that said, the best this week I can give you is a walrus who can dance that made me smile and  zombies. It’s amusing to me.

I hope that we all can find those small things that do give us some pleasure and joy. I don’t want to argue about the particulars.

I’m actually quite positive today. I know it doesn’t sound like it, but I’m amazed that we, as a nation, have lost some of what makes us great.

And that is compassion.

So I’ll do my part in my little spectrum of the world and that is believe that there is a light at the end of the tunnel. And do my part, how small it might be, to get us there a bit faster.

Actions

Information

7 responses

18 03 2008
blindersoff

Coma,

I agree it does get discouraging, regardless of what anyone say Obama delivered a historical speech about the racial divide in America. I dug in my heels about Hillary if she is the nominee, but that is not to say I will not change my mind. The Clinton campaign had a lot to do with this division in the Democrat Party and I am all for unity, but her campaign must correct the wrongs before and not after if she is the nominee for that unity in the Democrat Party.

The problems in America are in every household if you are not in that elite 1% of the rich.

I am a compassionate person, therefore, I will try and following your lead:

So I’ll do my part in my little spectrum of the world and that is believe that there is a light at the end of the tunnel. And do my part, how small it might be, to get us there a bit faster.

I also plan to step away from this long political process of the Democrats to announce a nominee. Bitterness was starting to build in my heart watching this Democrat Primary and that is not who I am.

It was meant for me to stop by your blog today because I know there are genuine people who want to move forward and not backwards.

18 03 2008
newscoma

That is about the nicest comment ever. I agree.
I can’t wait to meet you in person. You know, I’m an Obama supporter and I loved his speech today.
There is so much division in this party.
I’m discouraged but will do my part.

Much love to you.

18 03 2008
Russ

I share your discouragement, ‘Coma. I’m sick of the infighting, the posing, and the petty crap that passes for news coverage. I’ve tuned out as much of the campaign as I possibly can; although I’m sure I’ll punch “Yep” next to whomever has a (D) by his or her name come November, I’m unhappy with the candidates, the process, and the sad degeneration of politics in general.

Meanwhile, I’m looking forward to the next episode of “Lost.” 😉

18 03 2008
newscoma

Me too, my friend.
And we are political junkies.
LOST, dammit.

18 03 2008
chez beziat

Amy Winehouse has a skin problem? Tell me more!!

Thanks to you for what you bring to the table. The first time I ever saw you I was turning around in the parking lot of Mothership BBQ, I don’t think you knew who I was yet, and you gave me the friendliest wave I’d seen in years. Not to naively oversimplify, but I think we need more first encounters like those in this world.

19 03 2008
chrisyub

I, too, have taken a litttle break. At this point, when people try to engage me, I just quietly inform them I am an Obama supporter, and will be tomorrow and the week after next, and I am not going to partake in their agenda to piss me off.

20 03 2008
blindersoff

Coma,

I am looking for to meeting you guys, please let me know when you will be in town again. I will make it a point to be there.

I said in my previous comment that I would probably vote for Hillary IF she is the nominee for unity because as a country we do not need McCain. I am stating here today and this is my final decision, I WILL NOT vote for Hillary under any circumstances. I am more than happy to share my reasons the next time you are in town.

Leave a Reply

