Throw The Karl Rove Handbook Away

13 03 2008

I can’t tell you what to do or how to think. I’m not going to do that because that wouldn’t be cool. I’m not going to tell you how to vote, because that would be disingenuous. I have my opinions, you have yours and we can all keep it friendly.

We can all agree to disagree or at least I hope we can.

I am going to say that my fellow progressives need to chill. We are not oppressing women if we support Barack Obama. We are not oppressing African-Americans if we support Hillary Clinton. We are on the same team and yet we are acting like we aren’t.

I can also say that Karl Rove is not the guy we need to be taking tips from. Yeah, I know he got folks elected and I am not naive enough to believe that the ultimate prize is to win but then again I think we’ve lost the mission of the left with all the static. Throw his playbook away, campers, immediately.

And that’s what it is: static. Let’s not get caught up in it.

In 2000, we saw some very suspicious things happen in our government (and I realize there are always suspicious things happening in our government from both sides of the aisle so let’s not get hung up on that. Bear with me, we are taking a journey in this post so hear me out.)

We saw the national media bow down after 9/11 and not asking the right questions to our leaders in this country. We saw the national media start to come out of the fog after Hurricane Katrina.

And we have had a campaign that started in 2005 give everyone such Primary Election Fatigue that I’m surprised I can still sit upright.

The thing that bothers me about the last few weeks is that we have forgotten some basic things. The whole Geraldine Ferraro thing is a perfect example. The controversy hit on the day of the Mississippi primary. There seems to be a lot of maneuvering here because it seems this keeps happening to sway what is said during that news cycle. Mack wrote about this last week and in so many ways, he’s right.

He wrote:

I am prepared to work hard for either candidate. When I talk to uncommitted people, especially bloggers, I am well positioned to make my case for Hillary Clinton, even though I have publicly stated I voted for Obama in the primary. The reason I can do this is because you will find nothing disparaging about either candidate on this blog. I had a choice to make, and I did so, and stated my reasons for it. I have a preference, thats it.

There is a great deal at stake in the General Election, so a win is extremely important to me as a citizen. As a person, how we win is of more importance. I truly believe our country is poised to rally behind not just change, but real leadership that includes keeping citizens informed of what is at stake, without exaggeration or misrepresentation. Even the media will come around.

That pretty much sums it up for me.

The whole “Obama is a Muslim” and “Clinton is a monster” is tiring and silly. I will give Clinton credit for saying this morning that both campaigns are sensitive to the race/sex edge that is playing out because nothing could be more true. To give credit to Obama, the most he said about Ferraro’s comments was that is was “ridiculous.”

And for whatever reason, I’m hoping that this and some of the other goofy-assed crap that has happened on the national stage will stop.

Can we please just calm down?

With that said, I want to know how I can get better health-care. I want to know about civil liberties. I want my president to read the constitution and not call “it a godd***ed piece of paper“.

When a president leads our country, he/she represents all of this country and that’s been my issue with the last eight years quite frankly. The world doesn’t look at race or sex as an issue when they are talking international politics and the United States’ role in a global community.

We are all in this together, my friends. And in Denver, we will all stand together no matter who the candidate is.

As no one reads political blogs or posts much anyway, here is a picture of a mongoose to keep it real.

UPDATE: A comment thread at Music City Bloggers disputed Bush saying the GD comment. In being fair, I wanted to note that.

Actions

Information

4 responses

13 03 2008
Volunteer Voters » Roving Through The Chaos Of The Democratic Primary

[…] Newscoma thinks that Democrats need to put down the Karl Rove handbook and learn how to get along: The whole “Obama is a Muslim” and “Clinton is a monster” is tiring and silly. I will give Clinton credit for saying this morning that both campaigns are sensitive to the race/sex edge that is playing out because nothing could be more true. To give credit to Obama, the most he said about Ferraro’s comments was that is was “ridiculous.” […]

13 03 2008
holly

Dang. I hadn’t read the “piece of paper” comment, though I really didn’t have to, I guess.

“We saw the national media bow down after 9/11 and not asking the right questions to our leaders in this country. We saw the national media start to come out of the fog after Hurricane Katrina.”
This is the best, most concise wording of this that I’ve read. I came out of the fog at Katrina, too, and have never been back.

I’m thinking a lot of what you wrote here, though I don’t really know what to say about it. This will be my third election as a voter. I wasn’t pleased either of the last two times with my choices, but I’ve never gone through as much internal debate about whom I should/want to/will vote for as I have this year. And we don’t even have a Democrat nominee yet.

Keep writing this stuff. As the article you linked said, maybe the majority doesn’t read political blogs. I don’t consider myself an avid reader of them, either, but I do like to keep informed when the writer is accessible and not inflammatory. You have a great balance here even when you come down strongly on your views.

13 03 2008
newscoma

Thank you. I appreciate your kind words more than you will ever know.

13 03 2008
Chris

This has been the first election where I have voted in the primaries for a democrat. And I’m generally distressed with the direction this whole thing is going. From now to November is going to be a long haul. Let’s just hope it doesn’t go like I think it is going to…or we might be in for a 100-year war.

Leave a Reply

