Stagflation

4 03 2008

I don’t know about you guys, but I know I’m suffering a bit from political fatigue.

Today will be the day that will set the tone for the rest of the race. I’ve been paying far too much attention to this race, because, I don’t know. Could it be that the last eight years have been the worst in my memory? Probably.

I was talking to Big Daddy not too long ago and for the first time in my history, he and I seem to be on the same page. You know, we are all discussing stagflation except we are calling it “Crap, I don’t have enough money.”

Let me break it down for you because stagflation sounds like some sort of staph infection that you get on your face.

But it’s a different kind of infection, campers, that tears at the seams of our personal financial freedom.

Yeah, we can look at unemployment rates but people are making less money. You can have jobs out there, but some of those jobs are p/t at 20 hours a week. Gas is more expensive. Until they get public transportation here, then I’m stuck driving a car to get to work and toodle about doing my job. The last time, which has been months, that I filled my car up was in December. It was roughly 45 dollars. I just put in what I need right now. Food is more expensive. Goods are more expensive. Anything brought into whatever area you live that needs gasoline to have it transported there, well, that means those costs are handed over to the consumer.

Yet, many of us are making the same amount of money we did two years ago. Or, at least, I’m speaking for myself here. As I just paid my property taxes, I’m a little broke and my car needs work. SQ and I have taken on second jobs to keep our heads above water.

We make due and we realize we are lucky.

When our country is borrowing money to be in a war and I have tons of people who used to have manufacturing jobs (not any more, the plants are gone, campers) willing to work for minimum wage to just have a bit of money in their pockets, to feed their kids, then when I hear about employment numbers, I flinch. It’s fuzzy math.

So, of course, I’m watching what’s happening on a national level. I honestly don’t think anyone can fix this immediately. The damage done in the past few years will take more than a new president to repair this mess.

I go back to it’s one person at a time.

Today, four states are going to the polls with an amazing amount of delegates up for the taking. I hope whoever wins them remembers there are people’s futures attached to each one of those delegates.

And I hope they remember that.

Actions

Information

3 responses

4 03 2008
Volunteer Voters » The People Behind The Numbers

[…] Newscoma is tired of people looking at low employment numbers and coming away from the experience thinking we are in good economic times: When our country is borrowing money to be in a war and I have tons of people who used to have manufacturing jobs (not any more, the plants are gone, campers) willing to work for minimum wage to just have a bit of money in their pockets, to feed their kids, then when I hear about employment numbers, I flinch. It’s fuzzy math. Share and Enjoy: These icons link to social bookmarking sites where readers can share and discover new web pages. […]

4 03 2008
Slartibartfast

I don’t want to be a smart-patootie (well, with you, at least), but you DO remember what it took to get us out of stagflation last time, right?

It took a combination of the worst recession of my lifetime, followed by the most massive tax cuts in American history. 🙂

Now, on the liberal side of things, I will say that the measures at energy savings started in the 70’s (hey, I had a Chevette!) paid off in a lowering of energy prices that almost did in OPEC (and the city of Houston, as well). This will probably happen again, with all of those hybrids being sold.

On a side note, this is why I support the more stringent energy policies of Democrats: it gives us a leg up on the Chinese. Assuming the Chinese continue with their energy-guzzling ways, we Americans can undercut them on manufacturing energy costs, thus making up for their undercutting of us on labor costs. If America becomes the most energy-efficient country on earth (an we can, if we put our minds to it), and if energy costs remain astronomically high, the US will once again become the manufacturing center of the world. We can beat them at their own game, and bring back those manufacturing jobs you’re talking about.

4 03 2008
newscoma

I’m thinking about what you wrote, Slarti. You make some interesting points but I must say that when I write these things, I’m talking about personal experience in the now. You have an extensive base of history on these things but I guess I needed to just point out that I’m talking about my piece of the world.
We, as bloggers, are self-conscience and think about things (or at least what I’ve noticed) on how to respond or write them on our blogs because we are passionate about them or we wouldn’t continue to blog.
I’ve seen many bloggers drop out of the scene because it just didn’t mean as much to them.
We all do this. One thing that I feel that I’ve been guilty of, now as people in community have started reading this thing, is that I have a unique perspective of life in rural America and how it translates into being connected into the global/national picture and maybe I should share it. You see, it’s me that talks about the Chinese, but people I know here are only talking about these issues TODAY like they need a gallon of milk or gas for their cars to get to work. Not everyone, but it’s an in the moment sort of reaction.
Let’s look at this, just for the sake of a dialogue. When food is flown into Nashville, then those costs translate to how it got there. When you look at sending it another three hours into rural America, those costs are added on the top.
I am, unfortunately, not optimistic about these things changing anytime soon. We have years of damage to fix because of the arrogance and denial of a time in our lives in this country where we didn’t talk about it until it elevated to the everyday lives of the common citizen. Whoever gets to be president or is even elected into our state offices should pay attention to the little guys. And, those manufacturing jobs have been gone for several years. Our community competes with communities nation wide to get them back.
I keep wondering how we turn this thing around. I haven’t come up with any solutions yet.

Leave a Reply

