Piece-Milling Health Care

24 02 2008

As I have the funky fluchitis™ (Ron owns it), I have some thoughts about how it’s been to be horribly ill this weekend and how I’ve been dealing with my own personal health care.

In a sentence, I’m winging it.

The doctor called me in some things which have helped some but due to the fact that I haven’t actually seen him, we are treating symptoms that have gone unseen.  This is mainly my fault because I honestly could not get out of the house this weekend. I was also told by his nurse that the waiting room had more than 40 people waiting at all times the last couple of business days. I wasn’t sure if it was the flu or not but we did discuss if I came in and did come in contact with the flu, then there would be hell to pay. Of course, in our telephone conference, we determined I probably had both.

You can’t really do anything to get rid of the flu other than wait it out but we could treat the bronchitis.

My posse of friends and my family and I do share medicine although I realize I shouldn’t be saying this. We do because health care and insurance with the co-pays and then the hidden costs that come with it has created a piece-milled network where we end up trying to take care of each other. I’ve thought about this a lot this weekend and how people who do not have great insurance options tend to diagnose ourselves. I’m sure I’m not the only person who does this but it does happen. It’s a reality that people just don’t talk about.
It doesn’t happen out of arrogance but rather out of necessity.

I’m going to the doctor tomorrow morning regardless of how many people are in their with the flu as there is no way I can avoid work which creates another dilemma, one that John Carney has written about some. Do you go in to get the job done and risk making everyone sick or do you leave an impossible workload on your co-workers?

I’ve thrown up so much my ribcage aches when I cough. How can this be treated? It can’t, quite frankly. I’ve been buying a variety of over-the counter medication which eases symptoms temporarily. I’m taking the amoxicillan and then the inhaler (which make me nauseous.)

I wrote several months ago that I needed a stress test but my insurance refused to pay. I opted out of it.

Why am I writing this long opus this morning?

Because I’m not unique.

When politicians talk about health care they speak in future idealogy. They’ve done this for years and they do not deal in the present. It’s just a bunch of words that really have no meaning. Politicians/Candidates, you want to help people, then just do something instead of talking about it. We are doing what we can but the honest truth is start looking at the fallibilities of how insurance needs a overhaul where it does what it was designed to do and “insures” health care without horrible consequences.

I will heal from this mess, but what about the people who do have health insurance (as I do) but still look at financial annihilation because the health care isn’t going to cover things that are chronic or life-threatening. We pay for it but does it work for us.

Yeah, I’m pretty grouchy about all of this.

I blame the steroids.

Actions

Information

2 responses

24 02 2008
Ian Furst

Hope you feel better — but…. I couldn’t tell which country you were in based on the story. Funnily enough you’re problem sounds the same as many blogs in the US, Canada and UK (probably Japan and Germany too but I only speak english). There is a certain universality to the problems of cost vs access. My passion is that the family doctor clinics need help with efficiency. The story of 40 people waiting is not unusually. It also kills efficiency and patient satisfaction. There are pundits everywhere with blog solutions but until we start to help these small clinics see there patients in a cost effective manner it will remain difficult to make significant progress. Wait Times Blog

24 02 2008
Dudes … Knock It Off « Newscoma

[…] Going to take more steroids so I can yell at my loved ones. […]

Leave a Reply

