Bronchitis/Flu Hybrid

23 02 2008

As you know, I’ve been whining about being sick. Yesterday will probably go into the Newscoma Book of World Records as being one of the top ten worse days of feeling like a hockey puck stuck in cow dookey.

This morning, I still feel rotten.

I have some meds but it appears I have a hybrid of a new and exciting illness that is a combination of bronchitis and the flu. Have you ever been on steroids and been monstrously nauseous at the same time?

How utterly exciting.

I have found that although it wasn’t much fun, I’m trying to express some sense of gratitude about things that did go well yesterday and helped.

  • All the dogs cuddling with me in the bed when I felt my eyeballs roll back into my head. This was of the good. It was almost like they were trying to pull the ache out of me. Mabel, unfortunately, would not get out of my lap at any time which meant there was some Mable-tossing going on when I had to make a beeline to the bathroom.
  • Eating was not of the good as it refused to stay with me so I’ll just leave that there as not to completely gross you out.
  • I took baths to warm up.  That’s probably a bad idea but I did it anyway.
  • Club soda doesn’t taste that hot but for some reason, it helped last night. (Note to Self: No grilled cheese for awhile because that greasy goodness just made things worse and the thought of it makes me queasy this morning.)
  • I watched Die Hard (the original) which I haven’t seen in about a kajillion years through a bleary, fevered gaze that was like watching a movie through a silk stocking. For some reason it comforted me and my crush on Alan Rickman is still alive and well.
  • I also watched Woody Allen’s Manhattan and, although I’m not a huge Woody Allen fan, listening to Gershwin while watching New Yorkers psychoanalyze every little thing in their lives while Rhapsody in Blue played in the background was pretty much awesome. Once again, my crush on Diane Keaton was evident. I love the way that beautiful women think they are very unique by giving Allen’s character, Isaac, a shot because he really is a douche.
  • Did I mention that I cannot recall, even in the last ten years, being this puny.

I’m sort of hungry and I want a cherry-flavored Popsicle because that can only help and possibly be the start of solving world peace.

when-dogs-lick-your-camera.jpg

Actions

Information

9 responses

23 02 2008
Sandi

Oh girl..I feel so bad for you:( I just keep knocking wood that I will not catch this nasty stuff!!!
I hope that this weekend you start to feel a little better. Get another cherry popsycle.. that WILL help.
(HUGS)

23 02 2008
newscoma

Thanks Sandi.
I’m too old for this. 🙂

23 02 2008
holly

I’m sending more hugs your way. Healing hugs. It’s all I know to do.

P.S. I have crushes on the same people you do.

23 02 2008
newscoma

Thanks. I’m just going to have to muddle through this.
Alan Rickman just about is the sexiest thing ever.

23 02 2008
Ron

Ugh, fluchitis is awful. Poor ‘coma!

23 02 2008
Jeffraham Prestonian

Take good care of yourself, ‘coma — we needs ya back to fightin’ speed.
.

23 02 2008
newscoma

Thanks dudes.
Feel very much like shit.

23 02 2008
A Twitter Thought … « Newscoma

[…] Random drug-filled thoughts from your ailing Newscoma who has fluchitis™ which was brilliantly come up with by Ron in the comments. […]

23 02 2008
Joe P.

foo on being sick says I.

also, “Manhattan” has the most beautiful cinematography I’ve ever seen. Gershwin’s music makes even more magic happen. and Allen’s characters seem totally lost in such a gorgeous place. the last time I was in NYC I burned through endless rolls of black and white film – it is the best way to capture that city.

hope you feels mucho better soon.

Leave a Reply

