The Good, The Bad And The Reality

1 12 2007

Ken Levine probably thinks I’m some sort of cyberstalker I’ve linked to him so much in the last couple of weeks, but this was too good to not link to. He is looking for some of the good stuff to come out of the writer’s strike which is pretty funny (and telling.)

The rest of the world has discovered that Nikki Finke’s website is the place to go for information.

YouTube videos have gotten much funnier now that David Letterman writers have joined the junior high nerds from Lancaster, Pennsylvania who normally contribute these comedy classics.

It hasn’t snowed.

Many writers are getting cardiovascular exercise for the first time since 1988.

I got mentioned in Rolling Stones magazine (but I haven’t seen it yet so I’m not certain it’s a good thing).

There was a rally to salute the veteran writers although I could have lived without the phrase “meet the writers from YESTERYEAR.” It makes it sound like we’re all the Lone Ranger.

There are quite a few more. Levine is saying that the new negotiations aren’t all that great.

With this said, wasn’t Leno giving out doughnuts out a few weeks ago? It looks like some of his staff aren’t going to be having a great Christmas.

LOS ANGELES (Hollywood Reporter) – A couple of days after the Writers Guild of America strike began November 5, the star of “The Tonight Show With Jay Leno” told some 80 of his idled staffers that they need not worry about their finances.

Leno was so adamant about paychecks being safe, many didn’t bother looking for new jobs even though NBC was forecasting layoffs.

So it came as quite a shock Friday when the entire staff was told that they were not only out of a job but also that they weren’t guaranteed of being rehired once “The Tonight Show” returns.

UPDATE: Leno decided yesterday to help out his employees. Happened after I wrote the post. Trying to be fair. Now back to our original post. 

And we all know about Carson Daly, but Conan is paying some of his folks.

I’m thinking right now is crunch time in this strike. Without the writers, the other folks don’t have a job.

Let’s hope this gets resolved soon. Or you will be having to watch reality television starring David Hasselhoff. (Doh. That’s already happened. Never mind.)

With all of that said, I miss David Letterman, Jon Stewart and Stephen Colbert the most.

I haven’t ever watched Leno.

Just saying.

Actions

Information

One response

2 12 2007
Chris Jackson

Carson Daly and his driver is a trend sweeping Hollywood – run over a striking writer gets two gross points on your deal from the studio.

African American writer needs your help to find the Hit & Run driver who assaulted him at Paramount Studios.

On Nov. 8th 2007 I was hit by a Felony hit & run driver as she entered the Paramount Studios main gate as she sped through the executive & VIP entrance. I went to Kaiser Hospital where the nurse informed me that she had a duty to call the police and report the incident as an assault with a deadly weapon. The Officer arrived and took a preliminary report stating it was in deed a felony Hit & Run. The LAPD DR number is 070632411.

I am a WGA member as well as being Film Chairman of Reverend Jesse Jackson’s Rainbow PUSH Film Committee and an Executive Committee member in our Los Angeles Entertainment Bureau Office. (1968 W. Adams, Ste 300 LA, Ca 90018 323-734-3900).

Rainbow PUSH Entertainment Los Angeles Bureau was established in 1998 to unite the corporate entertainment industry in embracing diversity principles to level the playing field and to work together to create opportunities in utilizing human resources, business supplier relationships, corporate leadership and positive images.

I have been working for months to engaged Reverend Jesse Jackson to become actively involved in the writers plight for a fair contract. On Nov, 7th, 8th and 9th my tenacity became a reality when Reverend Jesse Jackson walked with WGA writers in our picket line at Paramount Studios and at our Fox Rally. At the day of the incident I informed Reverend Jackson I would be at Paramount Studios Windsor Gate awaiting his arrival when a woman driving a white or tan BMW hit me with her car and continued driving into the Paramount main gate. AP photographer Reed Saxton immediately began snapping photographs of my foot trapped under the woman’s wheel as well as other electronic media. I was interview by a female reporter who’s camera man capture the incident on tape. (unknown to me at this time)

LAPD Investigator told me on Wed of last week that he is communicating with four people at Paramount Studios who informed him that they have identified two possible cars their security cameras captured of the Hit and Run. Like DAH!

The Officer then stated to me that Paramount Studios isn’t making his job easy by handing over the video tape or giving him the suspect license plate number.
The suspect must be a high level Paramount Executive or a VIP why else is Paramount going out of its way to obstruct justice. I’m pissed. Does this LAPD guy know how long it took me to even get Reverend Jesse Jackson to even think about rich white writers in Hollywood.

Then he said something that disturbed me; why did I put my car under the woman’s tire and wait 24 Hours to file a police report? He added I should not have picketed in front of her car in the first place. I told him that I was in a state of shock. The Hospital called the police. Plus, I was in the crosswalk with 50 other picketers walking on a green light.

I told him I wanted her arrested. He said that won’t happen. These things happen all the time when you’re on the picket line and surrounding her car like a Britney Spears Paparazzi.

I was getting heated. This is why black people and rape victims can’t trust cops – they make you the suspect.

The officer said something to the effect that if you had a picture of the license plate he could solve the crime. Gee thanks, WALLY. (a writers in the 1960s wrote that)

(Last Thurs I went hobbling to AP offices downtown and spoke with assistant Bureau Chief Frank Baker to get the photographer that will give me the woman’s license plate and further evidence of the Hit & Run. He instructed me to have my lawyer contact him. RATS! – I thought this would be easy)

It’s been over three weeks and my right foot, knee, back and shoulders are in almost constant pain. I have been seeing three doctors.

I am now seeking the media and the public help to find this woman who hit me.
Email me at loveallanimals2002@yahoo.com

Leave a Reply

