$1.49 For A Piece A Pie

19 05 2007

Big Stupid Tommy has tagged me on a food meme. Here’s the thing, I live in Hooterville, but I’ll give it a shot.

The rules:

1. Add a direct link to your post below the name of the person who tagged you. Include the city/state and country you’re in.

Nicole (Sydney, Australia)
velverse (Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia)
LB (San Giovanni in Marignano, Italy)
Selba (Jakarta, Indonesia)
Olivia (London, England)
ML (Utah, USA)
Lotus (Toronto, Canada)
tanabata (Saitama, Japan)
Andi (Dallas [ish], Texas, United States)
Todd (Louisville, Kentucky, United States)
miss kendra (los angeles, california, u.s.a)
Jiggs Casey (Berkeley, CA, USA! USA! USA!)
Tits McGee (New England, USA)
Joe (NE Tennessee, USA)
10K Monkeys (Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA)
Big Stupid Tommy (Athens, Tennessee, USA)

And now me:

Newscoma (Weakley County, Tennessee, USA)

2. List out your top 5 favorite places to eat at your location.

Five huh? Umm, okay. At my location, okay this might be a bit more difficult but I’ll give it a shot.

I’m going to have to stretch a bit further around Northwest Tennessee, so bear with, mmmkay.

  1. Austin’s Pizza: The cheese is blended, the crust is tight. For a couple of bucks a slice, you can’t go wrong. Located right beside the University of Tennessee at Martin, Austin’s is the stereotype of a rural college town pizza place, and it backs it up because the pizza is really good. And the Cheese breadsticks might make you slap your momma. Oh, yeah, Austin is usually in the back cooking. It has that vibe about it.
  2.  Damron’s Barbecue: Featured on the Today show, this humble little place serves as a butcher shop/restaurant and BBQ shack. I mean, you can have all you can eat steak on Friday’s for $9.99, the BBQ is usually tasty and it’s been around forever. I think it’s sort of charming.
  3. Cadillac’s: Don’t get me wrong, Cadillac’s is a juke joint. But, if you want a pool room cheeseburger dripping with everything bad for you that tastes like heaven, Cadillac’s is your place of destiny. They’ll even grill the onions for you if you want it. And you can wash it down with a $1.50 beer during dinner. Let me repeat, these cheeseburgers will hypnotize you.
  4. KN: Yes, you sit in your car. Yes, the same family has owned this little Drive-In for years. Yes, they have slawburgers, Cheese Dogs and a Ham and Cheese sandwich which is just awesome. And the Onion Rings are so good you just won’t be able to stand it because the tears you shed from their sheer wonderfulness will make you just throw yourself in the road. Honestly, they are that good.
  5. Hearth: Best Lemon Ice Box pie ever made. Real good meat and three veggies which is the dietary staple for small town America. Seriously, the Lemon Ice Box Pie is awesome, and when they bring it to you, it’s almost frozen. Thus, the term of Lemon Ice Box Pie.

Just like Big Stupid Tommy, there are more but these were the places that come to my mind and I tried to keep it local. These restaurants are all scattered around UT Martin.

I think I’m supposed to tag other people, so I’m going with people I know that dig food. So I’ll go with Kerry Woo, John H., Finn,  Eric at Pound of Thoughts and for our point guard position will head across the state to Russ.

To Meme or not to Meme. The choice is, of course, yours.

Actions

Information

10 responses

19 05 2007
Lynnster

All you can eat steak for $9.99? The Edge would put them out of business in a month. He is totally a bottomless pit disguised as a skinny devil. I have never seen someone eat so much in a sitting in my life and I’m already mentally preparing for the astronomical Kroger & Sam’s Club bills in my wedded future.

Everything sounds delicious! I love, love, LOVE a good lemon ice box pie. The now-closed Avalon in Paris used to have a divine one when I was a kid.

We are getting a K&N back in Paris once again! The one out on the lake highway must have closed 20 years ago.

19 05 2007
Russ

I’m gonna have to think about this one for a little while. We denizens of Knoxstantinople are blessed with many fine locally-owned eateries. It’s a hard choice.

19 05 2007
Finn

oh fun! i will have to think about this one.

19 05 2007
Nicole

If I ever come to your place, I seriusly need to diet because all the food sounds so good!!! Danron’s BBQ and their all you can eat steaks??!!! arghhh drooling just thinking about it..and Hearth..never tasted before a lemon ice box pie..sound so tempting

Ps thanks for doing the tag. If you know of anyone else doing it please feel free to send me a message and I’ll update them too on the updated list of tag doers

20 05 2007
Don't want to be meal-y mouthed here, 5 places I like to eat.. « Salem’s Lots

[…] 5 places I like to eat.. Jump to Comments I”m IT! Couldn’t get away from the Newscoma tag*. Name five places you like to eat at your […]

20 05 2007
wonderdawg777

This is wierd typing in the dark comment box, but the letters light up! I’ll have to chew on my choices… I’ll be right back…

Speaking of Knoxville, I remember Calhouns on the west side years ago on Wednesdays with their lunch buffet – the skillet corn was awesome – would always tie a business trip to be in Knoxville on Wednesday…

And on the other side of the state, Griddley’s BBQ back in the early eighties – three racks of ribs a day – lunch, dinner and some to eat on the three hour drive back to Nashville.

21 05 2007
velverse

Damron… Here I come.. every Friday. Wow.. all you can eat steak. Okay delicious!

Lemon Ice Box Pie… hemmm sounds super duper yummy!

Well.. thanks for your list and recommendations 😀

21 05 2007
A Pound of Thoughts

$1.49 For a Piece of Pie

Okay…Newscoma has tagged me for a food meme.  Now she says she lives in Hooterville, but, I don’t think any place could resemble Hooterville any more than LuceVegas!  Okay, here it is…
1. Add a direct link to your post below the nam…

17 01 2008
untozy

hmmmm…very interesting!
Thanks google

11 02 2008
Wela

Hi all. Cool site Google
Thank.

Leave a Reply

